Tuesday 16 July 2019

Allianz FL Div 4 round-up: Bradley leads Derry stroll

Derry 0-19 London 1-9

Stock photo: Sportsfile
Stock photo: Sportsfile

Independent.ie Sportsdesk

Emmett Bradley and Ciaran McFaul scored 12 points between them as Derry put London to the sword in Ballinascreen.

Derry led by 0-10 to 1-5 at the break, but should have been much further ahead. They looked entirely comfortable as they surged to a 0-5 to 0-1 advantage but passed up a number of goal chances.

Please log in or register with Independent.ie for free access to this article.

Log In

London hit back with a couple of sweet points from Liam Gavaghan and a lovely goal from Adrian Hanlon, who finished from Killian Butler's inch-perfect pass, before David Dunne levelled.

Stung into action, Derry responded with a brace from Bradley before the break, and they dominated on the resumption as McFaul and Bradley cut loose.

Niall Toner swung over two fine scores, and despite Conor McAtamney's 56th-minute dismissal the Exiles could only add three late Gavaghan frees.

Scorers - Derry: E Bradley 0-7 (3fs), C McFaul 0-5, C Bradley 0-3, N Toner 0-2, P Coney, C Doherty 0-1 each. London : L Gavaghan 0-5 (4fs), A Hanlon 1-0, K Butler, R Jones, D Dunne, C Doran 0-1 each.

Derry - T Mallon 7; P Coney 8, J Rocks 7, E Concannon 7; K McKaigue 7, C McKaigue 7, N Keenan 7; C McAtamney 6, C McFaul 9; E Bradley 9, P Cassidy 8, J Doherty 6; S McGuigan 6, E Lynn 6, C Bradley 8. Subs: N Toner 7 for S McGuigan (5); P McNeill 7 for E Lynn (22); C Doherty 7 for C Bradley, (56); P McGrogan 6 for J Doherty (62).

London - D McDonagh 8; P Butler 6, M Clarke 6, M Moynihan 6; D Carrabine 6, A McGarvey 6, R Jones 6; R Forde 7, A Hanlon 8; L Gavaghan 8, J Hynes 6, B Tully 6; M Gottsche 7, D Dunne 7, K Butler 8. Subs: E Flanagan 6 for J Hynes (23); C Doran 6 for D Carrabine (34); R Devlin 6 for A Hanlon (54); C O'Neill 6 for R Jones (56); P McGirr 7 for D Dunne (56).

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Ref - S Lafferty (Antrim)

Begley pounces to deny Déise

Limerick 1-13 Waterford 0-10

Pat Begley and Seamus O’Carroll were the standout performers as Limerick secured a comprehensive win over Waterford in Rathkeale.

Limerick began the game at a fast pace with O'Carroll and Peter Nash scoring two points each in the opening 11 minutes.

That helped Limerick into a 0-5 to 0-1 advantage against a Waterford side that struggled to get any foothold in the contest.

Limerick added further scores through O'Carroll and Davy Lyons to go in 0-9 to 0-5 ahead at half-time.

The home side continued to dominate in the second half with Jamie Lee and Begley on target.

Whatever hopes Waterford had of nicking the game late on were dashed when Begley punched Jamie Lee's high ball past Aaron Beresford for the game's only goal.

Scorers - Limerick: P Begley 1-2 (0-2m); S O'Carroll 0-4; S McSweeney 0-3 (2f); P Nash 0-2; D Lyons, J Lee 0-1 each. Waterford: J Curry 0-4 (2f, 1m); C Murray 0-3; F Ó Cuirrín 0-2; S Whelan-Barrett 0-1.

Limerick - D O'Sullivan 7; S O'Dea 7, G Noonan 6, P Maher 6; C McSweeney 6, I Corbett 7, C Fahy 6; D Treacy 7, T Childs 5; P Nash 7, J Lee 7, D Lyons 6; S McSweeney 7, P Begley 9, S O'Carroll 9. Subs: B Donovan 6 for Lyons (48), J Liston 5 for C McSweeney (57), S Keeley 5 for Childs (60), M Fitzgibbon 5 for Lee (66), O Collins 5 for Maher (69).

Waterford - A Berisford 5; A Trihy 6, R Ó Ceallaigh 5, J McGrath 5; B Looby 6, M Curry 6, T Ó hUllacháin 7; S Ryan 6, T Prendergast 5; S Whelan-Barrett 5, F Ó Cuirrín 5, C Murray 7; J Curry 8, S Aherne 5, D Hallihan 5. Subs: D Fitzgerald 5 for Whelan-Barrett (47), D Guiry 6 for Prendergast (47), K Power 5 for Ó Cuirrín (60).

Ref - J Hickey (Carlow).

O'Rourke spot on for Leitrim

Leitrim 1-16 Wicklow 1-12

Ryan O'Rourke's injury-time goal, followed by points from Shane Moran and Gary Plunkett, gave Leitrim a dramatic victory over Wicklow in Aughrim.

Wicklow drew first blood in the eighth minute as full-forward Mark Doyle finished after being teed up by Anthony McLoughlin.

Two points for Leitrim by Domhnaill Flynn and Damien Moran cut the margin to 1-5 to 0-7 at the break.

Moran and Evan Sweeney put Leitrim back in front, but it looked as if Wicklow would prevail as keeper Mark Jackson drilled over some of his specialty points from frees and 45s.

However, just as Conor McGraynor gave the home side a 1-12 to 0-14 lead in the 69th minute, Leitrim swept upfield for corner-forward Ryan O'Rourke to finish to the net for the decisive goal.

Shane Moran and substitute Gary Plunkett then nailed down victory with injury-time points.

SCORERS - Leitrim: R O'Rourke 1-3, D Moran 0-3, D Flynn, S Moran 0-2 each, R Mulvey, P Dolan, J Heslin, G Plunkett, E Sweeney, P Maguire 0-1 each. Wicklow: M Jackson 0-6 (5f and 45), M Doyle 1-1, C O'Brien D Hayden, P O'Connor, D Healy, C McGraynor 0-1 each.

Leitrim - D McKiernan; M McWeeney, P Maguire, A Flynn; S Quinn, M Plunkett, R Mulvey; S Moran, P Dolan; S McWeeney, D Flynn, J Heslin; D Moran, D McGovern, R O'Rourke. Subs: E Sweeney for D Moran, G Plunkett for D McGovern, D Rooney for J Heslin, C McGloin for D Flynn.

Wicklow - M Jackson; O Manning, R O'Brien, J Snell; D Devereux, S Mooney D Fitzgerald; P O'Toole, D Healy; D Hayden, A McLoughlin, T Smyth; M Kenny, M Doyle, P O'Connor. Subs: G Murphy for M Doyle, C Healy for D Hayden, C McGraynor for R O'Brien, E Ward for T Smyth, C O'Brien for A McLoughlin.

Ref - N McKenna (Monaghan).

'Warrior' Waters saves the day

Wexford 1-10 Antrim 0-9

Daithi Waters came off the bench to score the crucial goal as Wexford beat a wasteful Antrim outfit at Innovate Wexford Park.

The midfielder was introduced at the interval, when the sides were level at 0-5 apiece.

Wexford manager Paul McLoughlin was happy with the second-half performance.

"We left ourselves a lot to do after a disappointing first half," he said. "It was about increasing the work rate, taking our chances, but Daithi's finish was superb. He's a real warrior."

Antrim manager Lenny Harbinson was disappointed with the second half.

"For some reason our forwards were reluctant to take on their scoring opportunities, while we also struck the post twice. There will be lots of twists and turns in this league yet," he reflected.

SCORERS - wexford: J Bealin 0-5 (4fs), D Waters 1-0, C Devitt, K O'Grady, C Devereux (f), B Brosnan, G Malone 0-1 each. Antrim: R Murray 0-4 (2fs, 1m), P Gallagher 0-2, S Beatty, P McBride, K Quinn 0-1 each.

Wexford: M Doyle 7; M Furlong 7, M O'Neill 8, C Carty 6; G Malone 5, S Doyle 7, M O'Connor 7; B O'Connor 6, N Hughes 7; B Malone 7, J Bealin 7, C Devitt 6; K O'Grady 7, C Devereux 6, J Tubritt 6. Subs: M O'Regan 7 for Tubritt (30); D Waters 9 for B O'Connor (h-t); B Brosnan 7 for Devereux (h-t); R Frayne 6 for Devitt (58); E Nolan for Carty (68).

Antrim: A Hasson 7; P McCormick 7, R Johnston 7, P Gallagher 8; N Delargy 7, M McCarry 6, D Lynch 7; M Sweeney 7, F Burke 6; M Johnston 7, S Beatty 6, P McBride 7; C Duffin 6, R McCann 6, R Murray 7. Subs: M Fitzpatrick 6 for Burke (47); K Quinn 6 for Beatty (52); R McCann 7 for McCarry (52); E McCabe 6 for Duffin (56); D McCormick for McCann (68).

REf - A Kissane (Waterford).

Irish Independent

The Throw-In: Kerry back to their best, Connolly’s return and Cork’s baffling inconsistency

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport