Tuesday 12 December 2017

2016 All-Ireland champions Ballyboden St Enda's bow out of the Dublin SFC at the first hurdle

Ballyboden St Enda's 0-13 Oliver Plunkett Eoghan Ruadh 2-10

Ballyboden are out of the Dublin SFC
Ballyboden are out of the Dublin SFC

Rónán Mac Lochlainn

Goals in either half by Leigh Herron and Gareth Smith helped St Oliver Plunkett’s overcome Ballyboden Sy Enda’s by three points at Parnell Park tonight.

The result means that the 2016 All-Ireland club champions' involvement in the Dublin SFC is over.

This contest crackled from the outset with Conal Keaney settling the tone with a superb point inside 11 seconds.

Plunkett’s were chasing shadows at this stage with the pace and movement of Boden proving irresistible and they built a sizeable lead by the seventh minute following scores by Darragh Nelson, Donagh McCabe and Ryan Basquel.

However, their momentum was stalled in the eighth minute as a precise delivery from deep by ‘Nesty’’ Smith allowed Bernard Brogan to find Leigh Herron for a simple finish from close range.

Brogan looked especially sharp and his subsequent point and another by Herron suddenly saw Plunkett’s with a narrow one-point advantage by the 10th minute.

Despite this brief period of supremacy, Plunkett’s could not gain sufficient control around the middle third and their inability to match their opponents in terms of pace was beginning to take its toll.

Nelson and Basquel added points as the half progressed and three (two frees) Sam Molony points on the bounce was a fair reflection of how the contest was evolving.    

Dublin U21 Colm Basquel, entered the fray for stricken county and club team-mate Shane Clayton and immediately influenced matters with his 29th minute point ensuring a deserved 0-10 to 1-4 lead for the 2015 winners.

Despite Colm Basquel clipping an early point after the break, Plunkett’s received another boost with Smith converting emphatically from the spot in the 33rd minute after Tom Hanafin had dragged Brogan down close to goal.   

Keaney’s brace of frees was a fine response but Boden lost authority from this point on and were held scoreless for the concluding 23 minutes as former Kerry star Paul Galvin, Bernard Brogan and Fermanagh’s Tomás Corrigan all sailed over scores.

Scorers – St Oliver Plunkett’s/ER: B Brogan 0-6 (3f), L Herron, G Smith (1-0 pen) 1-1 each, T Corrigan (f), P Galvin 0-1 each. Ballyboden St Enda’s: C Keaney (2f), S Molony (2f) 0-3 each, R Basquel, D Nelson, C Basquel 0-2 each, D McCabe 0-1. 

St Oliver Plunkett’s/ER: S Hawkins; R O’Connor, S Lyons, E Clarke; J Brogan, G Reynolds, D Kelly; R McConnell, C Dunleavy; P Galvin, C Walsh, D Brogan; G Smith, L Herron, B Brogan. Subs: A Brogan for D Brogan (25), D Lally for Reynolds (ht), T Corrigan for Herron (34), N Walsh for Kelly (48), S O’Connor for C Walsh (59), P Curtin for R O’Connor (62).  

Ballyboden St Enda’s: J Kane; B Dwan, S Clayton, T Hanafin; D Nelson, S Durkin, C Flaherty; MD Macauley, A Waters; S O’Connor, R McDaid, D McCabe; R Basquel, S Molony, C Keaney. Subs: C Basquel for Clayton (16), J Holland for McCabe (ht), D O’Reilly for Hanafin (BC, 32), A Flood for Macauley (51), D O’Mahony for Holland (54), 

Referee: G McCormack (Naomh Barróg).

Dublin SFC results:

Balltboden St Enda's 0-13 St. Oliver Plunkett Eoghan Ruadh 2-10

St Mary's 1-15 Whitehall Colmcille 1-7

St Jude's 1-20 Naomh Mearnog 0-6

Kilmacud Crokes 10-12 Erin's Isle 0-7

Parnell’s 1-13 Fingal Ravens 0-10

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport