Sunday 17 December 2017

14 man Kerry brush aside Tyrone to set up final showdown with Dublin

Kerry 1-21 Tyrone 2-11

Players from both Kerry and Tyrone tussle off the ball
Players from both Kerry and Tyrone tussle off the ball
Donnchadh Boyle

Donnchadh Boyle

Kerry set up another showdown with Dublin in next weekend’s league final after seeing off Tyrone in convincing fashion in Killarney.

Their seven point win in Fitzgerald stadium, along with Mayo’s victory over Donegal put Eamonn Fitzmaurice’s men into the final against the Dubs.

Kerry made a lightening start and had the ball in the net after just two minutes. David Moran, who was excellent in the opening period, had the vision to pick out Mikey Geaney and the Dingle man finished brilliantly to the net.

Kerry had 1-2 on the board before Tyrone opened their account and they might have had another goal but Barry John Keane took his point.

As has been the case for much of the league, the visitors were struggling for penetration up front but Darren McCurry’s shot was well saved by Brendan Kealy, who would also bat away a Peter Harte effort in the opening period.

Scores were coming much easier to Kerry and by the time Stephen O’Brien put them 1-10 to 0-3 up, five of Kerry’s starting forwards had scored.

Kerry would go in at the break leading by 1-12 to 0-6 with Tyrone not managing to score from play.  

Even though Peter Harte managed a fine goal, Kerry’s dominance was never under question. 

The hosts were reduced to 14 men late on when Ronan Shanahan picked up a black card for conceding a penalty, to go with a yellow he was shown earlier.

Harte hammered home the penalty but Kerry who had Donnchadh Walsh in excellent form, were too good on the day for a Tyrone sid who didn't manage a point from play until the 60th minute.

Anthony Maher of Kerry in action against Peter Harte of Tyrone
Anthony Maher of Kerry in action against Peter Harte of Tyrone

SCORERS - Kerry: P Geaney (6f), D Walsh 0-6 each, M Geaney 1-2, BJ Keane, B Sheehan (2f) 0-2, P Murphy, T Morley, S O’Brien 0-1 each.

Tyrone: P Harte 2-4 (1-0 pen, 4f), S Cavanagh 0-5 (5f), D Mulgrew 0-2.

Kerry: B Kealy; F Fitzgerald, M Griffin, R Shanahan; P Crowley, T Morley, P Murphy; D Moran, A Maher; M Geaney, K McCarthy, D Walsh; BJ Keane, P Geaney, S O’Brien SUBS: B Sheehan for McCarthy (47), J Lyne for Crowley (50), D O’Sullivan for Keane (52), J Barry for Maher (58), G Crowley for Fitzgerald (63), D Daly for O’Brien (69).

Tyrone: M O’Neill; A McCrory, P Hampsey, C McCarron; T McCann, R McNabb, P Harte; C Cavanagh, P McNulty; C McCann, N Sludden, K McGeary; M Bradley, S Cavanagh, D McCurry SUBS: C Meyler for McCann, J Munroe for McCurry (HT), F Burns for K McGeary (BC 38), D Mulgrew for Bradley (43), C McShane for Sludden (BC 46), R Brennan for McNabb (69). 

Referee: M Duffy (Sligo).

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport