Sunday 23 September 2018

13-man Moorefield battle against the odds to be crowned kings of Kildare


Shane Harte of Celbridge and Liam Callaghan of Moorefield tangle
Shane Harte of Celbridge and Liam Callaghan of Moorefield tangle
Frank Roche

Frank Roche

MOOREFIELD secured a ninth Kildare senior football championship in amazing circumstances at St Conleth's Park today, playing with 13 men for two-thirds of the final.

And there could be no disguising the merit of this victory for Ross Glavin's men, whose teamwork against the numerical odds was in stark contrast to a Celbridge team lacking coherent ideas of how to break down their opponents.

Moorefield looked to have left themselves an impossible scenario after pressing the self-destruct button twice in a matter of minutes midway through the first half.

It all started with Adam Tyrrell's 18th minute penalty – his first effort was saved by Shane McNamara, then Michael Konstantin's last-ditch block denied the same player from the rebound.

However, before Eanna O'Connor had converted the resultant '45' to leave it 0-4 to 0-1, Celbridge's Fergal Conway ended up on the turf and it resulted in a straight red card for Moorefield captain Daryl Flynn.

And then it turned even worse for the Newbridge men, who lost David Whyte for an off-the-ball elbow on Paddy Brophy. Cue another straight red – and Moorefield, albeit leading by three, looked to be staring at Everest.

Instead, they finished the half strongly to lead by 0-7 to 0-2 at the break; briefly edged six clear through the excellent Eddie Heavey; and then defended brilliantly to shut out danger man Brophy and his Celbridge colleagues.

SCORERS - Moorefield: E O'Connor (3f, 1 '45'), A Tyrrell (4f) 0-4 each, E Heavey 0-2, K Murnaghan 0-1. Celbridge: D Hughes (1f), S Harte (2f) 0-3 each, K Flynn, D Corcoran, P Brophy 0-1 each.

MOOREFIELD: T Kinsella; S Healy, L Healy, L Callaghan; J Murray, M Dempsey, K Murnaghan; D Flynn, A Masterson; C O'Connor, E Heavey, D Whyte; E O'Connor, A Tyrrell, N Hurley-Lynch. Subs: R Sweeney for Hurley-Lynch (22), R Houlihan for Healy (40), A Mullins for C O'Connor (49).

CELBRIDGE: S McNamara; M Konstantin, O Lyons, D McEvoy; M O'Grady, H McGrillen, K Flynn; C Brophy, F Conway; T Archbold, P Brophy, J Costello; S Harte, K Murphy, D Hughes. Subs: D Corcoran for McEvoy (19), M O'Sullivan for Murphy (39), K O'Callaghan for Archbold (51), P Carty for Harte (52).

REF: N McKenna (Ballyteague).

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport