Wednesday 12 December 2018

GAA team news: TJ Reid omitted from Kilkenny squad, Kerry teen David Clifford gets another chance to impress

David Clifford of Kerry prepares to kick a free during the Allianz Football League Division 1 Round 1 match between Kerry and Donegal at Fitzgerald Stadium in Killarney, Co. Kerry. Photo by Diarmuid Greene/Sportsfile
David Clifford of Kerry prepares to kick a free during the Allianz Football League Division 1 Round 1 match between Kerry and Donegal at Fitzgerald Stadium in Killarney, Co. Kerry. Photo by Diarmuid Greene/Sportsfile Newsdesk Newsdesk

TJ REID is likely to face a spell on the sidelines after being left out of the Kilkenny squad to face Clare in Sunday’s Allianz HL Division 1A clash at Nowlan Park, but captain Cillian Buckley has made a quick recovery from injury to make a surprise start.

2015 Hurler of the Year Reid overcame a calf injury to make an impact off the bench in last weekend’s defeat to Cork but is a notable absentee while Conor Fogarty also misses out.

Brian Cody has cracked the whip after an opening round defeat with Robert Lennon, Ollie Walsh, John Donnelly, Richie Leahy and Bill Sheehan all included – Conor O’Shea, Martin Keoghan, Pat Lyng and Conor Martin all lose out – while Buckley maintains his place at wing-back despite being stretchered off with a neck injury during the closing stages against the Rebels.

Elsewhere, Pat Gilroy has reacted to their 13-point loss to Offaly by recalling a number of big hitters for Dublin’s Division 1B trip to Antrim on Sunday as Conal Keaney and Danny Sutcliffe make their first competitive inter-county starts since July 2015.

The pair are joined in attack by Eamonn Dillon and Paul Ryan – another player who fell out of favour with Ger Cunningham – in a potent-looking attack.

Other changes include the return of Eoghan O’Donnell at full-back and James Madden’s inclusion at wing-back as nine players retain their places from last weekend’s shock defeat to the Faithful in Croke Park.

Meanwhile, Tyrone football boss Mickey Harte has named just eight of the team that suffered a humiliating All-Ireland SFC semi-final defeat against Dublin last year when they meet the same opposition in Healy Park tonight (7.0).

Last weekend’s surprise opening round loss to Galway has spurred Harte into action with Omagh defender Ciarán McLaughlin making his first league start while Cathal McCarron also comes into the full-back line.

After watching Lee Brennan’s 0-6 contribution with UUJ in this week’s Sigerson Cup win over St Mary’s, the Trillick attacker is rewarded with a starting place while Declan McLure and Richard Donnelly also start.

Brennan featured briefly in last year’s league campaign but the All-Ireland U-21 winner is regarded as one of the most promising Red Hand forwards.

Mayo have gone with the same XV that won in Monaghan last weekend for the visit of Kerry tomorrow while Eamonn Fitzmaurice has given David Clifford another chance to impress.

TYRONE (Allianz FL v Dublin): N Morgan; C McLaughlin, C McCarron, HP McGeary; T McCann, P Hampsey, P Harte; M Donnelly, D McClure; R Donnelly, N Sludden, K McGearey; L Brennan, C McShane, C McAliskey.

CAVAN (NFL v Louth): J Farrelly; N Murray, P Faulkner, D Phillips; M Reilly, C Brady, E Flanagan; K Clarke, B Magee; D McVeety, C Moynagh, O Kiernan; C O’Reilly, A Cole, N Clerkin

DONEGAL (NHL v Derry): M Kirkpatrick; C Murphy, S McCullagh, E Gilmore; D McCloskey, C Steele, P Cleary; J Mullan, J Phelan; S Higgins, O McCloskey, N Smyth; D Cartin, A Grant, N Waldron

LONGFORD (NFL v Derry): O Hartin; N Keenan, K Johnston, L McGoldrick; M Bateson, C McAtamney, C McWilliams; T O’Brien, E Bradley; R Mooney, E Lynn, C McFaul; C Doherty, P Hagan, N Toner

MAYO (NFL v Kerry): D Clarke; B Harrison, G Cafferkey, E O’Donoghue; C Boyle, S Coen, P Durcan; J Gibbons, S Nally; K McLoughlin, A O’Shea, D O’Connor; N Douglas, E Regan, A Moran.

KERRY (NFL v Mayo): S Murphy, B Ó Beaglaoich, J Foley, S Enright, P Murphy, G Crowley, R Shanahan, J Barry, B O’Sullivan, M Burns, S O’Shea, S O’Brien, D Clifford, P Geaney, B J Keane.

KILDARE (NFL v Monaghan_ M Donnellan; P Kelly, D Hyland, M O’Grady; J Byrne, E Doyle, C O’Donoghue; T Moolick, L Flynn; F Conway, C Healy, P Cribbin; B McCormack, D Flynn, C McNally.

DUBLIN (NHL v Antrim): A Nolan; P Smyth, B O’Carroll, E O’Donnell; S Barrett, C Crummey, J Madden; C McBride, T Connolly; D Burke, F Whitely, D Sutcliffe; C Keaney, E Dillon, P Ryan

ANTRIM (NHL v Dublin): C O’Connell; P Burke, J Dillon, A Graffin; J Maskey, M Donnelly, D Kearney; C McKinley, G Walsh; J Connolly, N McManus, N Elliott; D McKinley, C McCann, C Johnston.

KILKENNY (NHL v Clare): E Murphy; J Holden, P Walsh, P Deegan; C Buckley, R Lennon, J Lyng; J Maher, O Walsh; J Donnelly, R Reid, R Leahy; B Sheehan, W Walsh, A Murphy

CORK (NHL v Wexford): P Collins, S O Donoghue, E Cadagon, C O Sullivan, C Joyce, T O Mahony M Ellis, D Fitzgibbon, D Kearney, RO Flynn, C Lehane, B Cooper, A Cadagon, P Horgan, S Harnedy.

Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, a trip to Old Trafford to watch Man United take on Liverpool in the Premier League, tickets to Ireland's home games in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport