Wednesday 13 November 2019

GAA legends Mickey Linden and Ciaran Carey honoured at awards ceremony

Mickey Linden during his Down days
Mickey Linden during his Down days
Mickey Linden. Photo: Ramsey Cardy/Sportsfile
Colm Keys

Colm Keys

Down footballer Mickey Linden and Limerick hurler Ciaran Carey have been inducted into the Gaelic Writers’ Association 'Hall of Fame'.

Monaghan's Conor McManus has been selected as the 2018 Football Personality of the Year with Limerick midfield dynamo, Cian Lynch winning the hurling accolade.

Journalist Donal Keenan, a native of Roscommon, has been honoured with GWA Lifetime Achievement Award.

The 'PRO of the Year' accolade goes to another Roscommon man, Hugh Lynn for his work over the last five years.

The awards were presented at a function in Dublin on Friday evening.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

Online Editors

The Throw-In: 'Jim Gavin has achieved what Mick O'Dwyer and Brian Cody couldn't do'

In association with Bord Gáis Energy

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport