| 12.8°C Dublin

Four newcomers for limerick footballers

Limerick football manager John Brudair has named his team to take on Clare in Ennis in their Munster Championship clash on Saturday night.

Brudair had handed out four Munster Championship debuts with corner-back Robert Browne, centre-back Cillian Fahy, wing-back Stephen Cahill and corner-forward Peter Nash all making their Munster bows for the Treaty men.

Team captain Seanie Buckley is named at full-forward alongside Ian Ryan as Limerick look to build on the 2-10 to 1-5 win they recorded when the sides met in the league in Newcastlewest at the end of March.

Elsewhere, Cork IT will host the Fitzgibbon Cup weekend next year, while the finals of the Sigerson Cup competition will be held in UUJ.

The Leeside college will welcome the best third-level hurling teams from around the country for only the second time in their history, having previously hosted the competition back in 2008.

Jordanstown have to go all the way back to 1993 for the last time they hosted the Sigerson Cup competition but they won the tournament in 2008.

Elsewhere, the senior hurling teams of Wexford and Waterford will play a challenge in Ballygunner in aid of Pauric Mahony and charity Pieta House on May 30. Tickets are priced at €10 for adults while juveniles go free.

Limerick (SF v Clare) - B Scanlon; S O'Dea, J McCarthy, R Browne; I Corbett, C Fahy, S Cahill; T Lee, G Hegarty; J Riordan, P Ranahan, D Tracey; P Nash, S Buckley, I Ryan.

Irish Independent