Tuesday 20 March 2018

Dublin lead the way as International Rules squad is announced

Ireland team captain Bernard Brogan and team manager Joe Kernan, right
Ireland team captain Bernard Brogan and team manager Joe Kernan, right

Dublin lead the way with five players in Joe Kernan's International Rules squad to face Australia later this month.

The former Armagh manager named 23 players today at Croke Park with another eight on stanby. Footballer of the Year Jack McCaffrey is joined by fellow Dubs Bernard Brogan, Philly McMahon, Rory O'Carroll and Diarmuid Connolly.

Kernan said: “We’ve been delighted with the response and the hard work put in by players from all over the country in the last eight weeks in a bid to represent Ireland.

“Unfortunately injuries and club commitments have ruled some players out, but I am happy that we have still managed to assemble a very strong squad and it was a difficult job to reduce numbers down to the squad and the standby list.

“Both the players and the management are really looking forward to this EirGrid International Rules test.

“The fact that the Australians are sending over such a strong team of players means that we will have to up our game if we are to take those boys on and that’s exactly what we are planning to do.”


1 Niall Morgan (Tyrone)

2 Colm Begley (Laois)

3 Gary Brennan (Clare)

4 Bernard Brogan (Dublin) CAPT.

5 Eoin Cadogan (Cork)

9 Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone)

10 Eoin Doyle (Kildare)

11 Peter Harte (Tyrone)

13 Darren Hughes (Monaghan)

15 Lee Keegan (Mayo) VICE CAPT.

17 Paul Kerrigan (Cork)

19 Jack McCaffrey (Dublin)

20 Ciarán McDonald (Tipperary)

22 Philip McMahon (Dublin)

23 Conor McManus (Monaghan)

25 Rory O'Carroll (Dublin)

26 John O'Loughlin (Laois)

28 Aidan O'Shea (Mayo)

29 Michael Quinn (Longford)

31 Donnchadh Walsh (Kerry)

33 Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin)

34 Paul Cribbin (Kildare)

35 Paddy Mc Brearty (Donegal)


16 Paddy O'Rourke (Meath)

6 Killian Clarke (Cavan)

7 Ray Connellan (Westmeath)

14 Kieran Hughes (Monaghan)

21 Gearoid McKiernan (Cavan)

24 Dessie Mone (Monaghan)

27 Colm O'Neill (Cork)

30 Enda Smith (Roscommon)

Online Editors

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport