| 17.4°C Dublin

Rock-steady Dean still has his scoring boots


Dean Rock is still top of the Dublin scoring charts. Photo: Sportsfile

Dean Rock is still top of the Dublin scoring charts. Photo: Sportsfile

Dean Rock is still top of the Dublin scoring charts. Photo: Sportsfile

Dublin have played three matches in reaching next Saturday’s All-Ireland Senior Football Championship quarter-final, enjoying a healthy scoring difference in the process.

The Dubs amassed a more than respectable 7-68 in their successive provincial wins against Wexford, Meath and Kildare, conceding a relatively meagre 2-33 over the same period. 

This equates to a scoring average of just under 30 points per game and a concession average of exactly 13 points, albeit that figure is slightly skewed by the four points conceded to Wexford in their championship opener.  

Not surprisingly, it is Dean Rock that leads the way for Dublin in terms of scoring, with the Ballymun Kickhams sharpshooter accounting for 1-17 (1-0 pen, 0-10f, 0-1 ‘45, 0-1m) of his team’s combined tally. 

The bulk of those scores have come from placed balls, with Rock converting Dublin’s solitary penalty to date during their provincial semi-final win over Meath.

Hot on Rock’s heels in second place is Con O’Callaghan, who has revitalised the forward line following his absence during the National League. 

The Cuala dual star has scored 2-13, all bar one point coming from open play, with his goals coming in wins over Wexford and Kildare. 

Cormac Costello is another player that has impressed during this campaign and he lies in third spot thanks to his contribution of 2-6, all of which came from play. 

In total, 15 players have contributed to Dublin’s tally with John Small (1-1), James McCarthy (0-2) and Lee Gannon (0-2) all making returns from their defensive positions.   

In contrast, Cork haven’t been so free-scoring in their three matches so far, scoring 4-41 and conceding 3-47 in games against Kerry, Louth and Limerick. 

GAA Newsletter

Exclusives from under the skin of the GAA, from Ireland’s largest and best GAA team; Brolly, Mullane, Hogan and Ó Sé, to name but a few.

This field is required

Steven Sherlock’s excellence from placed balls is reflected in his tally of 0-22 (0-16f, 0-1 ‘45), with Brian Hurley next on the list with 2-6, that includes a penalty in their qualifier victory over Limerick. 

Cork’s other two goals have come through Cathail O’Mahony and Colm O’Callaghan while both Eoghan McSweeney and John O’Rourke have chipped in with three points apiece. 

In total, eight players have made a scoring contribution for the Rebels in this year’s championship.  

Dublin scorers to date

Dean Rock 1-17 (1-0 pen, 0-10f, 0-1m, 0-1 ’45), Con O’Callaghan 2-13 (0-1m), Cormac Costello 2-6, Ciaran Kilkenny 1-6, Brian Fenton 0-8, John Small 1-1, Brian Howard 0-3, Lorcan O’Dell 0-3, Tom Lahiff 0-3, James McCarthy 0-2, Lee Gannon 0-2, Sean Bugler 0-1, Niall Scully 0-1, Aaron Byrne 0-1, Paddy Small 0-1 (m). 

Cork scorers to date

Steven Sherlock 0-22 (0-16f, 0-1 ’45), Brian Hurley 2-6 (1-0 pen, 0-1m), Cathail O’Mahony 1-3, Colm O’Callaghan 1-1, Eoghan McSweeney 0-3, John O’Rourke 0-3, Kevin O’Donovan 0-2, Damien Gore 0-1. 

Most Watched