Tuesday 16 January 2018

Darren Gleeson left out as Tipperary have made three changes for Westmeath clash

Tipperary hurling goalkeeper Darren Gleeson
Tipperary hurling goalkeeper Darren Gleeson

Darren Gleeson is a high profile absentee after Tipperary made six changes for their All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship clash with Westmeath on Saturday.

Tipp' have decided to go into the vital game at at Semple Stadium without their keeper who was handed a handed a three-and-a-half year suspended prison sentence on Tuesday after he admitted an offence of obtaining €10,000 by deception in 2013.

Daragh Mooney starts in goal in place of Gleeson and there were further changes to the matchday fifteen Tomás Hamill and Joe O'Dwyer were also drafted in by Tipperary manager Michael Ryan.

There are half a dozen changes in total from the team that played Cork with Daragh Mooney, Joe O'Dwyer and Tomás Hamill, but Donagh Maher, Patrick Maher and Niall O'Meara all included.

The players who miss out are Gleeson, Cathal Barrett, John O'Keeffe, Seamus Kennedy, Sean Curran and John McGrath.

Tipperary: Daragh Mooney, Donagh Maher, Tomás Hamill, James Barry, Joe O'Dwyer, Ronan Maher, Padraic Maher, Brendan Maher, Noel McGrath, Dan McCormack, Patrick Maher, Michael Breen, John O'Dwyer Seamus Callanan, Niall O'Meara

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport