Wednesday 29 January 2020

Cuala king O'Callaghan in line for more awards glory

Con O'Callaghan at the official launch of Davy as sponsor of the Cuala Senior Hurling team Photo: Sportsfile
Con O'Callaghan at the official launch of Davy as sponsor of the Cuala Senior Hurling team Photo: Sportsfile
Donnchadh Boyle

Donnchadh Boyle

The awards keep on coming for Con O'Callaghan after he was named in the AIB club hurling team of the Year. And the talented Cuala dynamo could be in line for another accolade after he was shortlisted for the Club Hurler of the Year award.

O'Callaghan's winning habit over the last number of seasons has been well documented and this year alone has already seen him pick up a Sigerson Cup medal with UCD, a second successive All-Ireland club title with Cuala as well as a league title with Dublin.

Those successes carried on from a memorable 2017 that saw him win All-Irelands with the Dublin U-21 and senior footballers as well as with his club's hurling side in what is surely one of the most glittering years ever put down by an individual in GAA history.

O'Callaghan was one of six Cuala players to make the team which was chosen by a cross-section of the GAA media. O'Callaghan's older brother Cian, goalkeeper Sean Brennan, centre-back Sean Moran, midfielder Darragh O'Connell and forward David Treacy also make the cut.

Beaten finalists Na Piarsaigh also have six representatives in Michael Casey, Alan Dempsey, Cathal King, Ronan Lynch, Adrian Breen and Kevin Downes.


Philip Mahony (Ballygunner) is recognised for his contribution to their tilt at the Munster title as is Adrian Morrissey of Galway champions Liam Mellows. Brendan Rogers of Slaughtneil takes the final spot after four of his club-mates were named on the football team of the year which was named last week.

"The AIB GAA Club Hurling Championship was yet again a competition of real quality and produced a final that will live long in the memory," GAA president John Horan said.

GAA Newsletter

Expert GAA analysis straight to your inbox.

"Our Association is built on our pride in the place we call home. It's what motivates players to perform such heroics for the honour of the area they represent be it a big town or a little village. It's what encourages people to play and inspires others to volunteer in our clubs.

"It's a great honour for all of those players who have been selected - especially with this being the inaugural year of these awards - and I congratulate them all."

The awards will be presented at a function in Croke Park this Saturday night where the Club Hurler of the Year will also be announced. O'Callaghan's club-mate Sean Moran is also up for the gong along with Michael Casey of Na Piarsaigh.

2018 AIB GAA club hurling team of the year: Sean Brennan (Cuala); Michael Casey (Na Piarsaigh), Cian O'Callaghan (Cuala), Alan Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh); Cathall King (Na Piarsaigh), Sean Moran (Cuala), Philip Mahony (Ballygunner); Darragh O'Connell (Cuala), Ronan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh); David Treacy (Cuala), Brendan Rogers (Slaughtneil), Adrian Morrissey (Liam Mellows); Adrian Breen (Na Piarsaigh), Kevin Downes (Na Piarsaigh), Con O'Callaghan (Cuala)

Irish Independent

The Throw-In: Dublin-Kerry cracker, scrap the advanced mark and Limerick's psychological boost

In association wth Allianz

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport