Wednesday 25 April 2018

Fitzgerald takes plaudits as Leinster edge thrilling final

Leinster 4-16 Munster 2-17 (AET), Inter-Provincial Camogie final

Wexford captain Mags D'Arcy
Wexford captain Mags D'Arcy

Leinster were crowned champions in Rathleague, Co Laois after emerging from a thrilling final against Munster.

It took extra-time to separate the sides, with Niall Williams' outfit managing to came out on top.

Wexford goalkeeper Mags D'Arcy captained the victors, while Laois centre-back Sarah Ann Fitzgerald was named player of the tournament. Fitzgerald became the first player from a junior county to be selected by Leinster.

Munster thought they had snatched it in normal time, with a point from Cait Devane but Ursula Jacob came to her side's rescue to make it 3-11 to 2-14.

An early Devane goal had given Munster the perfect start but goals from Siobhan Flannery and Susie O'Carroll gave Leinster a six-point half-time lead. The gap was soon stretched to 10 but an Amy Kennedy goal gave Leinster hope, and kickstarted a magnificent comeback.

In the semi-finals, Leinster defeated Ulster 6-19 to 1-14, while Munster beat Connacht 2-15 to 1-7.

Indo Sport

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport