Sport GAA

Wednesday 13 December 2017

Brosna break Mitchels' hearts in low-scoring final

Brosna 0-8 John Mitchels 0-5 (All-Ireland Club JFC Final)

Denis O'Neill, John Mitchel's, in action against Aaron Cahill and Dave Curtin, Brosna
Denis O'Neill, John Mitchel's, in action against Aaron Cahill and Dave Curtin, Brosna
Denis O'Neill, John Mitchel's, in action against Aaron Cahill and Dave Curtin, Brosna
Francis Cassidy, John Mitchel's, in action against Shane Curtin, Brosna

Brosna continued Kerry's domination of the All-Ireland Junior Football Championship in this low-scoring final against Liverpool side John Mitchels at Croke Park.

Kerry teams won five of the seven All-Ireland junior finals they contested since 2004, and Brosna laid the foundations for this win with staunch defending from Eamon Kiely, Aaron Cahill, Flor McAuliffe and Michael Murphy.

Tom McGoldrick opened the scoring from a free and then Adam Barry kicked a beauty from play, as John Mitchels struggled to breach the Brosna rearguard.

Brosna's biggest danger appeared to be turning over the ball coming out of defence, as McGoldrick added a '45. John Mitchels' full-back Páraic McGuirk did his best with some timely clearances but, after Kieran Lynam opened John Mitchels' account in the 27th minute, Brosna added two late points from Mike Finnegan and Dave Curtin, to lead 0-5 to 0-1 at the interval.

Mitchels made an early second-half push and added two quick points from Francis Cassidy and Michael Molloy, but Brosna responded again with Adam Barry adding two points. The Liverpool side staged a late rally, but Michael Finnegan added a superb point to secure Brosna a famous victory.

Scorers - Brosna: A Barry 0-3, T McGoldrick 0-2, (1f, 1 '45'), M Finnegan 0-2 and D Curtin 0-1. John Mitchels: K Lynam, F Cassidy, M Molloy, J McDermott 0-1 each and C McGlade 0-1, (1 '45') T McGoldrick.

Brosna: E Prendeville; S Fitzmaurice, M Murphy, A Cahill; T Fitzgerald, E Kiely, F McAuliffe; D Curtin, S Curtin; D McAuliffe, T McGoldrick, P Curtin; T Finnegan, M Finnegan, A Barry: Subs: P O'Keeffe for M Murphy (BC, 27), J McDonnell for P Curtin (42), G Nash for D Curtin (BC, 58)

John Mitchels (Liverpool): M Deeney; A Murray, P McGuirk, N McShane; C Owen, S Rice, M Carey; P Mulligan, D O'Neill; C Murphy, J McDermot, F Cassidy; M Molloy, E Jackson, K Lynam. Subs: C McGlade for N McShane (h-t), K Kane for C Murphy (49), A Brown for S Rice (53)

Referee: P Nealon (Roscommon)

Irish Independent Sport Star Awards

Pick our magic sports moment of the year and win a trip for two to London. To view the shortlist and cast your vote click here.

Sunday Indo Sport

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport