| 19.7°C Dublin

Wicklow out-gun Fermanagh in Division 4 final

Wicklow's scoring machine clicked into gear at Croke Park, as the men from the Garden County blossomed on their way to the Division 4 title.

Peter Canavan's side made a game of it with a productive flourish late in the first half, when they trimmed a nine- point deficit back to one, but the second half just didn't happen for the Lakelanders.

Wicklow raced ahead with a devastating passage of football which saw them hit 2-6 in a 13-minute spell, Seanie Furlong kicking it off with a drilled, angled ninth-minute shot past Ronan Gallagher to the net.

Furlong then converted a couple of frees, and, along with Leighton Glynn, hit the target from play as well, and in the 18th minute, corner-back Ciaran Hyland popped up to plunder a second goal.

James Stafford also launched two inspirational points to make it 2-6 to 0-3, but back came Fermanagh, and Tomas Corrigan's precision pass sent midfielder Eoin Donnelly in to fire home a goal 10 minutes before the break.

Corrigan rose to the challenge with three neat points as the Wicklow men began to feel the heat, and by the halfway stage, just two points separated the sides, 2-8 to 1-9.

The stage seemed set for a Fermanagh revival but it took them 22 minutes to register their first score of the second half, which came from a free from substitute Paul Ward. There was to be no denying a determined Wicklow side, who finished strongly to cap a wonderful league campaign.

Scorers -- Wicklow: S Furlong 1-5 (0-3f), C Hyland 1-0, T Hannon 0-4 (1f), R Finn 0-3, J Stafford, L Glynn 0-2 each. Fermanagh: E Donnelly 1-0, T Corrigan 0-3, S Quigley 0-2 (2f), C Quigley, B Mulrone, D Keenan, E Maguire, D Kille, P Ward (f) 0-1 each.

Wicklow: J Flynn; C Hyland, A McLoughlin, A Byrne; D Healy, M McLoughlin, S Kelly; J Stafford, R Finn; L Glynn, D O'Sullivan, D Hayden; T Hannon, S Furlong, J McGrath. Subs: P Burke for O'Sullivan (48), P Earls for McGrath (62).

Fermanagh: R Gallagher; N Bogue, B Cox, N McGovern; C Quigley, R McCluskey, B Mulrone; S Lyons, E Donnelly; D Keenan, S McCabe, R Jones; E Maguire, S Quigley, T Corrigan. Subs: B Owens for McGovern (h-t), D Kille for Jones (48), M McGrath for Mulrone (52), P Ward for Maguire (52).

Referee: F Kelly (Longford)