Sport Gaelic Football

Monday 18 December 2017

Who would be affected?

A number of options are available for possible movement of counties between provinces, but obviously the priority would be to have the same number in each area while discommoding as few as possible.

That could be achieved by moving just four counties (Donegal and Longford to Connacht; Carlow and Wexford to Munster, leaving the four provinces looking as follows:

Ulster Munster Leinster* Connacht

Cavan Cork Dublin Galway

Derry Kerry Wicklow Mayo

Antrim Limerick Laois Roscommon

Down Clare Offaly Sligo

Armagh Tipperary Meath Leitrim

Tyrone Waterford Louth Longford

Fermanagh Carlow Kildare Donegal

Monaghan Wexford Westmeath London

(*Kilkenny don't compete in the Senior Football Championship)

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport