Monday 23 October 2017

Walsh steers Jarlath's into final

St Jarlath's, Tuam 1-11 Roscommon CBS 1-9
Connacht Colleges SFC

Hogan Cup specialists St Jarlath's qualified for the provincial final when they held Roscommon CBS scoreless in the second half at Ballyhaunis yesterday.

Shane Walsh kicked six points for St Jarlath's, who have won 12 Hogan Cup crowns but who have been without a title since 2002, having lost last year's All-Ireland final.

Roscommon CBS, who were bidding to reach their first provincial final since 1998, were on top in the opening half and led by 1-9 to 0-6, with Enda Lannon's fisted goal after 14 minutes and six consecutive points before the break giving them the edge.

However, St Jarlath's coped better with the stiff wind after the restart and took control after Walsh got the first of three second-half points.

Sean Glynn rounded off a terrific move involving Mike McWalters and Sean Silke to find the net in the 41st minute and St Jarlath's never looked back after that.

Scorers -- St Jarlath's: S Walsh 0-6 (2f, 1 '45'), S Glynn 1-0, L Silke 0-2, C Gleeson, S Silke, M Farragher 0-1 each. Roscommon CBS: E Lannon 1-3 (3f), C Casey, P Kenny (1f) 0-2 each, M Nally, O Hannon ('45') 0-1 each.

St Jarlath's -- M Mulligan; C Langan, C Ryan, R O'Connor; P Glynn, A Nolan, C Cunningham; C Gleeson, S Glynn; M McWalters, L Silke, J Donnellan; S Silke, M Farragher, S Walsh. Sub: R Maloney for Donnellan (60).

Roscommon CBS -- M Whyte; M McNeill, T Featherstone, L Kilcline; O Hannon, C Shaw, P Nealon; M Nally, K Kilcline; C Dolan, M Healy, B Fannon; P Kenny, E Lannon, C Casey. Subs: D Donnelly for Casey (57), C Clarke for Dolan (57).

Ref -- R Gurran (Mayo).

Irish Independent

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport