Saturday 20 January 2018

Unsung heroes: the results

We received a massive response to our 'Unsung Heroes' competition, based on the teams we selected from players who had never won All-Ireland senior medals (1960-2010).

Thanks to everybody for showing such huge interest and congratulations to the winners of the competitions for two tickets to this year's All-Ireland hurling and football finals, plus one night's accommodation at a Dublin hotel.

The winners are -- football: Mick Delaney, Tramore, Waterford; hurling: James Byrne, Kilcormac, Offaly.

The two teams selected by our panel of experts were:

Hurling: Seamus Durack (Clare); Stephen McDonagh (Limerick), Noel Drumgoole (Dublin), Ollie Canning (Galway); Ciaran Carey (Limerick), Sean Stack (Clare), Pat McGrath (Waterford); Joe Salmon (Galway), 'Sambo' McNaughton (Antrim); John Callinan (Clare), Gary Kirby (Limerick), Martin Quigley (Wexford); Jimmy Smyth (Clare), Christy O'Brien (Laois), Paddy Molloy (Offaly).

Football: Brian McAlinden (Armagh); Gabriel Kelly (Cavan), Kevin Kehilly (Cork), John Egan (Offaly); Brian McEniff (Donegal), Glenn Ryan (Kildare), Johnny Hughes (Galway); Dermot Earley (Roscommon), Ciaran Whelan (Dublin); Ciaran McDonald (Mayo), Packy McGarty (Leitrim), Mickey Kearins (Sligo); Kevin O'Brien (Wicklow), Frank McGuigan (Tyrone), Eugene 'Nudie' Hughes (Monaghan).

Martin Breheny

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport