| 1.6°C Dublin

UCD dominate Sigerson stars

Four modern-day players have made the Sigerson Cup 'Team of the Century,' which was announced yesterday.

Kerry's Maurice Fitzgerald and Seamus Moynihan are joined by Tyrone's Peter Canavan and Derry's Sean Marty Lockhart in a line-up that includes several other famous names.

The criteria used to select the team was how they performed in the Sigerson Cup competition itself, rather than for their county. UCD provide six of the team, including former Kerry star John O'Keeffe and Cavan All-Ireland medal winner PJ Duke.

Sean O'Neill, who represented Queen's is chosen at full forward.

There are six Kerry men in total, with Moynihan, Fitzgerald and O'Keeffe being joined by Brendan Lynch, Jackie Walsh and Jim Brosnan.

Sigerson Cup Team of Century

Jimmy McGaugran (UCG & Roscommon, 1936-40); Sean Marty Lockhart (UUJ & Derry, 1996-2000), John O'Keeffe (UCD & Kerry, 1970-75), Sean Flanagan (UCD & Mayo, 1944-46); PJ Duke (UCD & Cavan, 1945-50), Seamus Moynihan (UCC/IT Tralee & Kerry, 1994-98), Martin Newell (UCG & Galway, 1960-64); Padraig Carney (UCD & Mayo, 1945-50), Jim McDonnell (UCD & Cavan, 1954-58); Brendan Lynch (UCC & Kerry, 1968-72), Maurice Fitzgerald (UCC & Kerry, 1987-90), Jackie Walsh (UCD & Kerry, 1971-78); Jim Brosnan (UCC & Kerry, 1950-53), Sean O'Neill (QUB & Down, 1958-65), Peter Canavan (St Mary's & Tyrone, 1990-94)

Irish Independent