Friday 24 November 2017

Tubridy's late show

Champions for the last two seasons, Kilmurry-Ibrickane relinquished their title on Saturday, going down by a point to neighbours and fierce rivals Doonbeg in Cooraclare.

Doonbeg led at the interval in a tense game, going in 0-4 to 0-2 ahead. They increased their lead to three points early in the second period but four unanswered scores from Kilmurry by the 47th left the champions three in front.

Then David Tubridy goaled for the Magpies two minutes later before Enda Doyle popped up three minutes into injury-time to kick the winner. Doonbeg are now on the cusp of claiming a first title since 2001.

Scorers -- Doonbeg: D Tubridy 1-1 (0-1f), B Egan 0-2, S Killeen, S Ryan, E Doyle 0-1 each. Kilmurry-Ibrickane: P O'Dwyer Snr 0-2, S Hickey, E Coughlan, E Talty, M O'Dwyer, S Moloney, M McCarthy 0-1 each.

Doonbeg -- N Dillon; R Vaughan, P Gallagher, C Whelan; J Blake, D Downes, P Ahearn; C Dillon, E Doyle; B Egan, F O'Dea, S Killeen, K Nugent, S Ryan, D Tubridy. Sub: J Whelan for Nugent.

Kilmurry-Ibrickane -- P O'Dwyer Jnr; D Hickey, M Killeen, M McMahon; S Hickey, E Coughlan, D Callinan, P O'Connor, P O'Dwyer Snr. M McCarthy, M O'Dwyer, E Talty, N Downes, I McInerney, S Moloney. Subs: M Hogan for Talty, B Moloney for Callinan, O O'Dwyer for McInerney.

Ref -- M Rock (Ennistymon).

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport