Sport Gaelic Football

Monday 19 March 2018

thrilling u-21 tales a victory for sense


Tipperary won the Munster title for the first time; Roscommon won the Connacht title for the first time since 1999 and only the sixth time overall; Donegal are seeking a first Ulster championship title since 1995; opponents Cavan last won it in 1996; Dublin retained the Leinster title for only the third time.

That's the refreshingly exciting tale of the U-21 All-Ireland football championship which will now feature Roscommon v Dublin and Tipperary v Cavan/Donegal in the All-Ireland semi-finals.

And to think that some high-powered GAA committees tried more than once to scrap the U-21 grade.

Thankfully, common sense and democracy gave them their answer and this vital part of the GAA was saved!

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport