Sport Gaelic Football

Friday 15 December 2017

Successors who flourished ...

Three managers who replaced an All-Ireland winning manager and delivered All-Ireland titles themselves


(Cork hurling 2005-2006)

Came from Cork 'boot room' and provided a seamless transition when Donal O'Grady stepped away after the 2004 All-Ireland triumph. Allen backed it up with a further All-Ireland in 2005 before losing the 2006 final to Kilkenny.


(Kerry football 2004-2006,


O'Connor has twice succeeded All-Ireland winning managers in Kerry and has followed with All-Ireland titles himself as manager with both terms. Within a year of Paidi O Se's departure Kerry were 2004 champions, a feat repeated in 2009 under O'Connor after Pat O'Shea stepped down.


(Kerry football 2007-2008)

Like O'Connor, whom he replaced, success was instant with the delivery of the 2007 All-Ireland title, the only time in the last two decades that there has been a successful defence of an All-Ireland football title.

Successors who failed


(Dublin football 1996-1997)

Had redemption in 2011 as Pat Gilroy's coach, but Whelan found the going tough when he replaced 1995 All-Ireland winning manager Pat O'Neill.


(Tipperary hurling 2011-2012)

Won back-to-back Munster titles, but Tipperary's yardstick stretches beyond the province in the wake of Liam Sheedy's 2010 success.


(Kerry football 1990-1992)

O'Sullivan got the poisoned chalice of having to follow in the footsteps of Mick O'Dwyer. His time ended after that 1992 Munster final defeat to Clare.

Irish Independent Sport Star Awards

Pick our magic sports moment of the year and win a trip for two to London. To view the shortlist and cast your vote click here.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport