Sport Gaelic Football

Friday 24 November 2017

Staunton plunders Treasure Island booty for class of '08

2008 All Stars 3-11
2009 All Stars 1-11
Ladies football

Jackie Cahill

MAYO ace Cora Staunton was the jewel of Treasure Island as the 2008 Ladies Football All Stars defeated their 2009 counterparts in San Francisco on Saturday.

Staunton bagged 2-5 as the selection managed by Cork's Eamon Ryan ran out winners by six points at the magnificent Pairc na nGael venue. The Carnacon attacker, who scored 2-2 from play, was the star of the show in an attacking sense but goalkeeper Elaine Harte was also in superb form.

For the 2009 All Stars, Cork's Geraldine O'Flynn performed effectively in a defensive role before moving further up the field while Mayo's Emma Mullin pulled the strings from centre-forward.

The 2009 selection was managed by Deirdre Murphy, who masterminded Clare's All-Ireland intermediate success last year, but she had to play second fiddle to Ryan's team, who started with six of Cork's senior champions.

Among them was Briege Corkery, who travelled from Australia just for this game, while O'Flynn was joined by Norita Kelly in the 2009 team.

Staunton showed her class with an early goal to set the 2008 winners on their way but the 2009 All Stars hit back with three unanswered points to tie the scores at 0-3 to 1-0.

Staunton, who hit 2-3 in the first half alone, took over after that and an unanswered run of 1-3 from the 27-year-old, including a brilliant 14th-minute goal, sent the 2008 side into a 2-3 to 0-3 lead approaching half-time.

The 2009 All Stars fought back and were given a lifeline by Ciara McAnespie in the 38th minute when the Monaghan forward found the net.

With 10 minutes remaining, the 2009 All Stars had reduced the deficit to just three points, trailing 1-9 to 3-6, but the 2008 winners rallied with a run of four successive points to make the game safe.

Scorers -- 2008 All Stars: C Staunton 2-5 (0-3f), M Downey 1-0, P Dennehy 0-2, N Cleary, C Little, E Hanley, D Murtagh 0-1 each. 2009 All Stars: C McAnespie 1-0, S Aherne (0-1f), J Donnelly (0-1f) 0-3 each, G O'Flynn, A McDonagh, N Earley, E Mullin (0-1f), L Henchy 0-1 each.

2008 All Stars -- E Harte; L Barrett , A Walsh, S Courtney; Briege Corkery, B Stack, N Woods; C Little, A Casey; N Cleary, N Kindlon, M Downey; P Dennehy, C Staunton, E Hanley. Subs: K Conway, S McLaughlin, D Murtagh, A McDermott, R McPhilbin.

2009 All Stars -- C O'Connor; N Tierney, N Comyn, G O'Flynn; A McAnespie, M Carter, S McGrath; DMasterson, N Kelly; A McDonagh, E Mullin, N Earley; C McAnespie, S Aherne, U Carroll. Subs: D Toal, E Downey, L Henchy, J Donnelly, A Kelly.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport