| 6.8°C Dublin

Star performer Conroy demolishes Eire Og

Davitts 2-12 Eire Og 0-6

DAVITTS corner-forward Michael Conroy demolished Eire Og Greystones at Tullamore yesterday and sent his team into the final with a man-of-the-match display.

The Mayo side had the advantage of the strong wind in the first half and Conroy was popping over the points as he racked up an impressive 0-8 total over the game.

Eire Og were still not out of the picture coming up to half-time, but then Conroy worked another piece of magic, putting full-forward Fergal McGrath through for a killer goal.

The Greystones men might have coped with a five-point deficit after playing against the wind, but to overhaul arrears of 1-8 to 0-2 in the second half was asking too much.

After the restart, Darren Hayden, who was Eire Og's best player, put Daniel Wood in for a point inside 30 seconds.

But, 10 minutes into this second period, disaster struck again. This time, goalkeeper Lorcan Traynor attempted to find a colleague with a short kick-out, but Davitt's centre-forward David McDonagh nipped in, bounded through on goal before blasting to the net.

It may have been the first score of the second half for the Mayo side, but it wrapped up this game. Eire Og had a mountain to climb, behind by 2-8 to 0-4. And Eire Og were in more trouble on 54 minutes when their iconic centre-back Stephen Kelly was sent off on a second yellow card.

SCORERS -- Davitts: M Conroy 0-8, F McGrath 1-2, DMcDonagh 1-0, R McNamara, C Roche 0-1 each; Eire Og: D Hayden 0-3, T Gberevbie, D Woods, D Webb 0-1 each.

DAVITTS -- M Diskin, C Roche, A Roche, K Gallagher, J Clarke, C Boyle, J Cummins, R McNamara, P Carey, K Prendergast, D McDonagh, P Coyne, A McTigue, F McGrath, M Conroy. Subs: K Glynn for McDonagh, L Kearns for Prendergast, J Ronayne for Clarke.

EIRE OG GREYSTONES -- L Traynor, J Tanner, J Kelly, E McHugh, C Smullen, S Kelly, S Horan, T Gberevbie, J Leonard, P Smith, D Hayden, K Manahan, G Fuisciardi, B Cuddihy, C Daly. Subs: D Webb for Smullen, D Keane for Woods, P Keane for Horan. P Doherty for Cuddihy.

REF -- C Lane (Cork).

Irish Independent