Saturday 25 November 2017

St Gall's pay penalty as Murphy fires Glenswilly


Michael Murphy
Michael Murphy

Chris McNulty


Murphy netted the 26th-minute penalty which proved to be the difference. St Gall's, the 2010 All-Ireland champions, were extremely wasteful, kicking 11 wides and dropping another two efforts into the arms of goalkeeper Philip O'Donnell.

Glenswilly, by contrast, displayed extreme economy with the Donegal champions spurning only two chances all afternoon.

The big score came four minutes before half-time. Murphy won a penalty off Andrew McClean and stepped up to dispatch the kick to the top corner of Chris Kerr's net.

The decision left St Gall's manager Carl McCabe "a bit bewildered" as Glenswilly led 1-5 to 0-4 at the break.

Murphy added an excellent point early in the second half after collecting Ciaran Bonner's ball in to keep Gall's at bay.

With Bonner and Neil Gallagher getting on top around midfield, Glenswilly's growing belief in themselves was evident.

Sean Burke, Conor McGourty, Karl Stewart and Michael Pollock kept St Gall's in touch, but it became a wretched afternoon for them, a year after they kicked away an Ulster semi-final against Kilcoo.

"Unforgivable" was how McCabe described it. "Fifty weeks down the line we have the same problems coming back to haunt us again," he said.

"It is inexcusable. There are loads of excuses, but we have only ourselves to blame and that's the sickening thing. It'll haunt everyone involved with this team for another season."

With Gallagher a driving force, Glenswilly's quality shone through late on and they showed again their mastery in winning when the going gets tough. Murphy scored two '45s' that oozed class, the second of them the clincher in added-time.

Only formed in 1982, Glenswilly are a fledgling club who played senior football for the first time in 2006.

"That is unbelievable, but we had every confidence," said manager Gary McDaid. "We were so well prepared coming in to today's game and we had everything down to a tee.

"It is a marvellous scalp, but there's no point in us taking that scalp and not going on to beat Roslea."

SCORERS – Glenswilly: M Murphy 1-4 (1-0pen, 0-1f, 0-2 '45s'), G McFadden 0-3fs, N Gallagher, K McFadden, B Farrelly 0-1 each. St Gall's: C McGourty 0-5 (4fs), A Healy, K Niblock, S Burke, K Stewart, M Pollock 0-1 each.

GLENSWILLY – P O'Donnell; B McDaid, E Ward, R Crawford; Caolan Kelly, J McDaid, J McFadden; N Gallagher, C Bonner; J Gibbons, G McFadden, D McGinley; Colin Kelly, M Murphy, K McFadden. Subs: C Gallagher for J McDaid (49), B Farrelly for K McFadden (53), R Diver for McGinley (60).

ST GALL'S – C Kerr; A McClean, C Brady; R Wilson, S Kelly, J McGeevy, A Healy; S Burke, A Gallagher; T O'Neill, K Niblock, K McGourty; C McGourty, M Pollock, N O'Neill. Subs: B Bradley for McGreevy (43), K Stewart for K McGourty (43), S O'Hara for N O'Neill (47), C Burke for S Burke (56).

REF– P Hughes (Armagh).

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport