Monday 10 December 2018

Red Hands hold off late Roscommon rally

TYRONE 0-12 ROSCOMMON 1-7 All-Ireland SFC Qual Rd 2

Neil Collins, Niall Carthy and Niall Daly of Roscommon battle with Tyrone’s Conor McAliskey and Martin Penrose for the ball
Neil Collins, Niall Carthy and Niall Daly of Roscommon battle with Tyrone’s Conor McAliskey and Martin Penrose for the ball

Tyrone got out of jail at Dr Hyde Park, escaping with a two-point win over a Roscommon side that could so easily have caused a massive upset.

The Rossies fought back heroically in the closing stages to narrow the gap to two, and kicked themselves out of it when they had the Red Hands on the rack.

Tyrone had to dig themselves out of a hole, having gone behind late in the first half to a spirited Roscommon team. Packing the defence and breaking in numbers, the Rossies repeatedly frustrated their opponents but the Red Hands hit the front in the 21st minute through Mark Donnelly after Sean Cavanagh had converted an 18th-minute free.

Then Conor Devaney managed to get in behind his marker and netted at the second attempt after his initial shot was saved by Pascal McConnell. The sides were level on 1-2 to 0-5 at the break, and Darren McCurry stroked over a couple of frees early in the second half.

Roscommon's intensity looked to have faded as Tyrone took a 0-12 to 1-3 advantage into the final 15 minutes but there was still a kick in the Connacht men, and they cut the gap to two. In the end, however, their finishing let them down.

Scorers – Tyrone: D McCurry 0-6 (4f), S Cavanagh (1f), Mark Donnelly 0-2 each, M Penrose, C McAliskey (45) 0-1 each. Roscommon: C Devaney 1-1 (0-1f), C Cregg 0-3 (2f), D Shine 0-2f, N Collins 0-1 each.

Tyrone: P McConnell; R McKenna, Joe McMahon, C McCarron; C Clarke, P Harte, C Gormley; C Cavanagh, S Cavanagh; Mattie Donnelly, Mark Donnelly, Ciaran McGinley; D McCurry, M Penrose, C McAliskey. Subs: K Gallagher for Mattie Donnelly (47), R O'Neill for McAliskey (47)

Roscommon: D O'Malley; N Collins, N Carty, S McDermott; D Keenan, N Daly, P Brogan; C Shine, K Mannion; C Daly, E Smith, C Cregg; I Kilbride, D Shine, C Devaney. Subs: D OGara for Smith (40), K Higgins for Kilbride (44), M Finneran for Daly (49), C Compton for Devaney.

Referee: D Gough (Meath)

Who is your sportstar of the year?

Vote in the Irish Independent Sport Star Awards and you could win the ultimate sports prize.

Prizes include, a trip to Old Trafford to watch Man United take on Liverpool in the Premier League, tickets to Ireland's home games in the Six Nations, All Ireland football and hurling final tickets and much more.

Simply click here to register your vote

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport