Thursday 19 April 2018

Outside Managers: a success story

Toomevara won 11 Tipperary county titles between 1992-2008 with seven different outside coaches. They've drawn their managers from Galway, Limerick, Offaly, Tipperary and Clare.

After Bertie Óg Murphy stepped down as Cork manager in '02, Toomevara made a move for him at the outset of the following year and nearly secured his services.

They recruited Offaly's Joe Dooley instead, but dispensed with his services halfway through the '03 season. Michael Conneely from Galway came in and Toomevara won their eighth title in 12 years.

Toomevara's winning

'foreign' bosses

1992: Pad Joe Whelehan (Offaly)

1993: Seán Stack (Clare)

1994: Seán Stack

1998: Tom Ryan (Limerick)

1999: Tom Ryan (Limerick)

2000: Pad Joe Whelehan

2001: Seán Stack

2003: Michael Conneely (Galway)

2004: Seán Hehir (Clare)

2006: Pat Herbert (Limerick)

2008: Vincent McKenna (Borrisokane-Tipp)

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport