Friday 15 December 2017

O'Mahony returns to reshuffled Tipp defence

Cliona Foley

Cliona Foley

AN INJURY to Paddy Stapleton means Conor O'Mahony is back starting in Tipperary's defence for Sunday's Munster SHC semi-final against Clare.

O'Mahony impressed when he replaced wing-back David Young against Cork last time out and he will start at centre-back in a reshuffled defence where Padraic Maher moves to left half-back and John O'Keeffe switches back to Stapleton's corner-back slot.

Stapleton and Gearoid Ryan both missed out club action last week, but Ryan has passed a fitness test and has been named in his usual midfield slot alongside Shane McGrath.

Yet despite reports that Pa Bourke has been flying in training, he has been unable to force his way into Tipperary's vaunted attack that stuck three goals past Cork last time out.

Clare manager Ger O'Loughlin has given championship debuts to Patrick O'Connor (Tubber) at wing-back and Cratloe clubmates Cathal McInerney and Conor McGrath in the forwards.

Conor Cooney lines out at full-back, with Cian Dillon at corner-back and James McInerney at centre-back and Philip Brennan gets the nod between the posts ahead of Donal Touhy.

Tom Kenny returns to the Cork starting line-up for their All-Ireland senior hurling qualifier against Laois.

Kenny returns at midfield for the injured Lorcan McLoughlin and Bill Cooper of Youghal, who was not among the five subs against Tipp, replaces Cian McCarthy at centre-forward in the Rebels' only other change.


Derry have been boosted by the return of captain Barry McGoldrick for their Ulster SFC semi-final against Armagh but will be without Gerard O'Kane.

McGoldrick missed their victory over Fermanagh with injury and now replaces Emmet McGuckin at wing-forward but O'Kane is now out with a thigh injury and is replaced in the half-back line by Brian Og McAlary.

And John Brennan has also made changes to Derry's bench where Niall Holly, Barry McGuigan and Brian McCallion are the new additions.

Armagh have named an unchanged team from the side that scored a shock five-point victory over Down.

Derry had sought for Sunday's game to be played in Omagh and Casement Park, citing the greater travelling time and costs for their fans.

They are unhappy that the game has been fixed for Clones, but Ulster Council say the Monaghan venue was chosen because of its greater capacity, which means the match is not all-ticket and all U-16s will be admitted for free.

TIPPERARY (SH v Clare) -- B Cummins; J O'Keeffe, P Curran, M Cahill; D Young, C O'Mahony, Padraic Maher; G Ryan, S McGrath; S Callanan, N McGrath, Patrick Maher; E Kelly, J O'Brien, L Corbett.

CLARE (SH v Tipperary) -- P Brennan; P Vaughan, C Cooney, C Dillon, P O'Connor, J McInerney, P Donnellan; N O'Connell, J Clancy; J Conlon, F Lynch, C McInerney; D McMahon, D Honan, C McGrath.

CORK (SH v Laois) -- D Og Cusack; S O'Neill, E Cadogan, S McDonnell; J Gardiner, W Egan, B Murphy; T Kenny, P Cronin; B O'Connor, B Cooper, N McCarthy; L O'Farrell, P O'Sullivan, P Horgan.

DERRY (SF v Armagh) -- D Devlin; S Leo Mc Goldrick,

K McCloy, D McBride; B Og McAlary, C Kielt, M Bateson; Jo e Diver, M Friel; M Lynch, C O'Boyle, B McGoldrick; E Muldoon, E Bradley, Conleith Gilligan.

ARMAGH -- P Hearty; A Mallon, B Donaghy, K Dyas; A Kernan, C McKeever, P Duffy; K Toner, C Vernon; T Kernan, BJ Padden, M Mackin; M O'Rourke, S McDonnell, J Clarke.

FERMANAGH (MF v Armagh) -- B McAleer; L Cullen, C Cullen, L Leonard; N Beggan, N Shannon, N McMahon; R Hyde, R Lyons; R McGrade, R Corrigan, S Lynch; B Owens, E Courtney, J Duffy.

Irish Independent Sport Star Awards

Pick our magic sports moment of the year and win a trip for two to London. To view the shortlist and cast your vote click here.

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport