Sport Gaelic Football

Thursday 14 December 2017

Offaly's three wins in 11

Offaly footballers last won a Leinster championship game when they beat Carlow in the 2007 quarter-final before losing the semi-final to Dublin. Since then, they've lost four first-round games by an average of 9.75 pts. They've fared better in qualifiers, winning three of seven games.


2011: Wexford 2-16 Offaly 0-8

2010: Meath 1-20 Offaly 2-7

2009: Kildare 1-16 Offaly 1-10

2008: Westmeath 2-11 Offaly 1-8


2011: Offaly 1-18 Monaghan 1-10; Limerick 3-13 Offaly 0-15

2010: Offaly 2-18 Clare 1-18 (after extra-time); Offaly 0-15 Waterford 0-10; Down 1-12 Offaly 1-10

2009: Wexford 2-11 Offaly 0-16

2008: Down 5-19 Offaly 2-10


Offaly enjoyed two big successes (1997 Leinster title; 1998 NFL title) during Tommy Lyons' four seasons in charge (1997-2000) but since then there have been huge changes on the managerial merry-go-round. Paul O'Kelly and Gerry Fahy were each in charge for only one year, while there have been two early-season departures (Richie Connor in 2009 and Gerry Cooney last April)

2001-02: Padraig Nolan

2003: Paul O'Kelly

2004: Gerry Fahy

2005-06: Kevin Kilmurray

2007-08: Pat Roe

2009 (Jan-Feb): Richie Connor

2009-2011: Tom Cribbin

2012 (Jan-Apr): Gerry Cooney

2012 (April): Tom Coffey (interim)

Irish Independent Sport Star Awards

Pick our magic sports moment of the year and win a trip for two to London. To view the shortlist and cast your vote click here.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport