Monday 23 October 2017

O'Dwyer happy to see his Clare reign begin in positive style

Clare 1-20 Limerick IT 1-2

In his first competitive outing as the new manager of the Clare senior footballers, Mick O'Dwyer enjoyed a winning start over Limerick IT in the opening round at Miltown Malbay.

The challenge from the students was a very poor one and as a result, the 76-year-old Kerry legend gleaned very little from Clare's performance.

Despite that, O'Dwyer was complimentary about his charges when talking to the media after the game.

"Our fellows played good attractive football, they combined well. It was a poor Limerick IT team all right," he said. "But you play what's in front of you and that's all we could do."

Clare hit the ground running and led by three points to nil by the fourth minute. With wing-forward Shane McGrath in fine form, the Banner county enjoyed a seven-point lead by the 12th minute.

Then LIT, against the run of play, opened their account when they snatched a goal by Tommy McCarthy in the 14th minute. But the home side were always in control and six minutes later Gary Brennan scored a fine goal after a good hand-pass from corner-forward Podge McMahon.

By the half-time whistle, Clare had amassed a 1-11 to 1-0 lead and the game was over as a contest.

To his credit, LIT goalkeeper James Brouder pulled off at least three impressive saves over the 70 minutes none more so than after 15 minutes when he denied Shane McGrath with a spectacular dive to divert his shot for a '45'.

Scorers – Clare: S McGrath 0-7 G Brennan 1-0, A Clohessy 0-4 (1 '45), I McInerney 0-3 (1f, 1 '45), P McMahon, E Coughlan 0-2 each, J Dowling, N Kelly 0-1 each. LIT: T McCarthy 1-0, B Coleman (f), C Wallace 0-1 each.

Clare – J Hayes; S Collins, C Dixon, E Coughlan; M McMahon, G Kelly, D Callinan; G Brennan, C O'Connor; S McGrath, J Dowling, A Clohessy; P McMahon, I McInerney, N Kelly. Subs: C Duggan for P McMahon (h-t), T Downes for Dowling (h-t), I Whyte for Callinan (56), J Keane for O'Connor (62), G Quinlan for McInerney (67).

LIT – J Brouder; S Considine, S Malone, G Canty; P Barrett, S Durran, G Murphy; T McCarthy, M Brennan; S Ryan, T Griffin, S Hayes; S Behan, B Coleman, C Callinan. Subs: N Breen for Behan (24), C Wallace for Callinan (50), E O'Sullivan for Considine (54), S Ó Comáin for McCarthy (62).

Ref – C Lane (Cork).

Irish Independent

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport