Thursday 26 April 2018

Murphy steers Donegal into final

Donegal 0-12
Tipperary 0-4


MICHAEL Murphy was again Donegal's hero as he blasted his county into the final after a tight and tense win over 14-man Tipperary in Parnell Park last night.

Tipperary's effort was deflated by the sending off of their captain Ciaran McDonald two minutes into the second half, for his second bookable offence on Murphy. The Ulster champions used the extra man advantage to pull away, despite Tipp's best efforts. It took the guts of 10 minutes for the first score; Murphy was fouled and tapped over the free himself. Donegal's Leo McLoone scored the only point from play in 30 minutes of football soon after. A Micheal O'Dwyer free was the only Premier County reply.

Donegal had a goal chance through the hands of Murphy, who blasted wide, and at the other end, Peter Boyle denied Tipp half-forward Aldo Mattassa. A Derek Molloy free for Donegal left the scores 0-3 to 0-1 at the break.

With 14 men for the majority of the second half, Tipp were overcome by waves of Donegal pressure. Impressive scores from Murphy, James Carroll and Molloy in the final quarter put an unfair reflection on the final scoreline.

Scorers -- Donegal: M Murphy 0-6 (3f), D Molloy 0-3 (1f), J Carroll 0-2, L McLoone 0-1. Tipperary: S Carey 0-2 (1f), M O'Dwyer (1f), A Moloney 0-1 each.

Donegal: P Boyle; E Doherty, C Boyle, P McGrath; D Walsh, T McKinley, C Classon; K Mulhern, D Curran; M McHugh, D Molloy L McLoone; A McFadden, M Murphy, D McLaughlin. Subs: J Carroll for D McLaughlin (h-t), P McNelis for T McKinley (46), S O'Kennedy for D Curran (60), C Morrisions for A McFadden (60), D Murphy for P McGrath (60).

Tipperary: K Kenrick; R Kiely, C McDonald, D Lynch; P O'Dwyer, J Coghlan, D Dwyer; A Moloney, P Acheson; S Carey, B O'Brien, A Matassa; C Sweeney, S Egan, M O'Dwyer. Subs: P McEvoy for M O'Dwyer (h-t), T Hanly for A Matassa (46), B O'Meara for Egan (48), G Ryan for Brien (55), D Heffernan for Carey (60).

Referee: D Brazil (Offaly).

Dublin 2-10

Roscommon 0-8

A turbo-charged opening five minutes proved crucial as Dublin shone under the lights at Kingspan/Breffni in this joust with Roscommon.

A goal from David Quinn and a converted penalty 90 seconds later by Dean Rock were all-important as Roscommon were made to engage in a game of catch-up they never looked like winning. But in the cold light of day, Dublin boss Jim Gavin may acknowledge that scarcely has a team won so few battles yet won the war. Roscommon recovered from going 2-1 to 0-1 behind after three minutes to dominate possession for the rest of the half. Two unanswered points by the Connacht men cut Dublin's lead to 2-3 to 0-6 by the three-quarter hour mark.

But Dublin refused to be caught, McCarthy and Rock dovetailing beautifully to keep their opponents on the ropes to the death.

Scorers -- Dublin: D Rock 1-2 (1f), D Quinn 1-0, R McCarthy 0-3, N Devereux, G Sweeney, B O'Rorke, C Mullins, C Dorney 0-1 each. Roscommon: D Shine 0-4 (4f), N Carty, K Higgins, C Shine, D McDermott 0-1 each

Dublin: V Whelan; E Culligan, R O'Carroll, D Nelson; J Cooper, S Murray, N Devereux; J McCarthy, C Mullins; C Dorney, D Rock, G Sweeney; B O'Rourke, D Quinn, T Furnman. Subs: J McDermott for J McCarthy (h-t), M Coughlan for C Dorney (h-t), R McCarthy for B O'Rorke (33), C Reddin for D Quinn (57), N Brogan for N Devereux (59).

Roscommon: D O'Malley; P O'Grady, N Collins, M Higgins; J McKeague, N Daly, E Bannon; N Carty, K Higgins ; P Garvey, C Shine, B Murtagh; N Kilroy, D Shine , D McDermott. Subs: A O'Hara for C Shine (20), E Kenny for B Murtagh (44), R Gleeson for N Collins (52), L O'Connor for P Garvey (57).

Referee: C Branagan (Down).

Sunday Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport