Wednesday 24 January 2018

Murphy gets surprise full-forward role for Cork

Cliona Foley

Cliona Foley

VETERAN Cork midfielder Nicholas Murphy has been given a surprise new full-forward role for Sunday's All-Ireland SFC quarter-final against Mayo.

It is an unusual move from manager Conor Counihan, but he has been forced to find a stop-gap solution after after losing Daniel Goulding to a bad ankle injury last weekend and also losing his direct replacement against Down -- Barry O'Driscoll -- to a broken jaw in the same game.

There were no surprises from Kerry, who have Paul Galvin and Tomas O Se available again after injury and suspension respectively.

They replace Kieran O'Leary and Shane Enright to substantially bolster an otherwise unchanged side for their all-Munster All-Ireland quarter-final clash with Limerick on Sunday.

Tyrone manager Mickey Harte has named an unchanged team for their fourth-round qualifier clash with Roscommon tomorrow.

Attacking ace Stephen O'Neill misses out for the third successive game due to injury and midfielder Aidan Cassidy, who missed last weekend's win over Armagh, is also sidelined by a hamstring problem.

Unsurprisingly Harte has stayed with the team who looked so impressive last week, so Brian Dooher, Martin Penrose, Justin McMahon and Owen Mulligan remain on Tyrone's strong bench.

Roscommon are giving wing-back Donal Ward and key attacker Senan Kilbride as late as possible to prove their fitness. Both have been struggling with knocks they picked up in the Connacht final and Kilbride (bruised shoulder) is believed to be the more doubtful.

Neither Kildare nor opponents Donegal have yet named their teams, but the Lilywhites are expected to do so tonight. The Lilies' wing-back Gary White missed a training session earlier this week due to illness, but was back training last night.

CORK (SF v Mayo) -- A Quirke; E Cotter, M Shields, E Cadogan; N O'Leary, J Miskella, P Kissane; A O'Connor, A Walsh; F Goold, P Kelly, P O'Neill; D O'Connor, N Murphy, P Kerrigan.

KERRY (SF v Limerick) -- B Kealy; K Young, M Ó Sé, T O'Sullivan; T Ó Sé, E Brosnan, A O'Mahony; A Maher, B Sheehan; P Galvin, Declan O'Sullivan, D Walsh; C Cooper, K Donaghy, Darran O'Sullivan.

TYRONE (SF v Roscommon ) -- P McConnell; M Swift, Joe McMahon, R McMenamin; Sean O'Neill, C Gormley, P Jordan; K Hughes, S Cavanagh; C Cavanagh, B McGuigan, P Harte; T McGuigan, M Donnelly, K Coney.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport