| 11.2°C Dublin

Mulholland strike seals the deal for Patrick's


Cathal Mulholland, St Patrick's Maghera

Cathal Mulholland, St Patrick's Maghera

Cathal Mulholland, St Patrick's Maghera

HOLDERS Maghera eased into the quarter-final with a win over rivals St Mary's Magherafelt at Owenbeg.

The 2013 Hogan Cup champions looked in a spot of bother early on when Kevin Rice got on the end of a move and managed to squeeze the ball into the net, despite Ciaran McCloy's best efforts.

However, Maghera responded in style, reeling off six unanswered points in the next five minutes to go in at half-time leading 0-9 to 1-2. Magherafelt made a fist of it in the third quarter and held the gap to a goal with 15 minutes to play.

But the superior quality Maghera were able to avail of showed in the final quarter. Cathal Mulholland buried a goal from 10 yards to secure the holders' passage.

SCORERS – St Pat's: C Convery 0-6 (4fs), C Mulholland 1-2, J Doherty 0-2, P McAtamney, M McGrath, P Gunning, D Tallon 0-1 each. St Mary's: C Small 0-3fs, K Rice 1-0, T Burke, A Keenan (f) 0-1 each.

St Patrick's – C McCloy; P McNeil, O Hegarty, C McNeil; C O'Doherty, P Hagan, C Mulholland; C Glass, C Cassidy; J Doherty, P McAtamney, M McGrath; P Gunning, D Tallon, C Convery. Subs: B Cassidy for Hagan (BC, 27)

St Mary's – C Mullan-Young; N Keenan, D Devlin, P Lagan; P McElroy, R O'Neill, J Connolly; R Donaghy, T O'Brien; D McColgan, C Small, M McVey; T Burke, K Rice, T O'Kane. Subs: A McLaverty for Donaghy (50), A Keenan for Small (53), P Martin for McVey (53).

Ref – M Higgins (Fermanagh)

Irish Independent