| 9.5°C Dublin

Mighty McGlynn fires St Brigid's to top flight crown

St Brigid's 1-6 Portlaoise 0-0

In the most one-sided of all the day's finals, St Brigid's were immense at O'Moore Park as they claimed the title for Dublin for the fifth consecutive year.

Having already accounted for the champions of Kerry, Galway and Kildare en route to the final, Portlaoise must have been in confident mood, but this Brigid's sidewas a step too far.

From the outset this game was only heading one way as Brigid's speedy forward Tiernan McGlynn seized control of proceedings with three quick-fire points. Hampered by some poor shooting and erratic passing, Portlaoise failed to register a single score as Brigid's ruthlessly cut through them.

And with just 10 minutes remaining Mark Donnelly was on hand to gather the rebound to drive the ball into the roof of the net to end the game as a contest. Michael Courtney, Mark Donnelly and captain Kevin Callaghan all found their range for Brigid's to extend their lead and the sound of the final whistle brought jubilant scenes as the large travelling Dublin crowd greeted their young heroes.

Scorers -- St Brigid's: M Donnelly 1-1, T McGlynn 0-3, M Courtney 0-1 , K Callaghan 0-1.

St Brigid's -- A Holmes; D Hawkshaw, D McKenna, D McCable; J Barr, C O'Sullivan, M Tighe; J O'Neill, K Callaghan; T McGlynn, M Donnelly, D Ryan; J McGuirk, M Courtney, T O'Shea. Subs: D Kiely, J Connolly, A Gleeson, B Moore, S Mansfield.

Portlaoise -- N Gleeson; B Naughton, P Critchley, B Sheehy; A Coughlan, A Bergin, J Greaney; T Kavanagh, D Feane; J Kavanagh, I Bland, E Dunne; A Lynch, L Davis, J Reddin. Subs: G Fitzpatrick, R Lewis, C Brosnan.

Ref -- J Brennan

New York 1-7

Burren 0-4

Rory Allen fired 1-2 in the second half to guide New York to a well deserved win over Down side Burren.

A nasty injury to Burren full-back Conor Cox overshadowed the game slightly but New York were simply immense and they built on their one-point half-time lead with a hugely impressive display.

Allen hit two wonderful scores early in the second half and after the New York rearguard survived a Burren onslaught, the New York star raced clear to bury his shot into the roof of the Burren net. James Hennessy and Aidan Fitzpatrick traded scores before the massive New York support flooded the field at the end.

New York -- JD Kilkenny; A Thornberg, L Butler, C Lundy; S Sorohan, M Russell, K Walsh; M Boyle, N Kelly; A McCormack, R Allen, J Hennessy; S O'Boyle, C Kelly, J Breen. Subs: S Coughlan, L McSweeney, J Breen.

Burren -- M McGurk; S Fitzpatrick, C Cox, S O'Hare; C White, D Murdoch, P Fagan; A Fitzpatrick, S Murdock; L Kerr, R Fegan, A McAvoy; S O'Connor, D Murdock, M McAvoy. Subs: C McArdle, C McAdam.

Ref -- P Pearse

Naomh Eanna 1-4

Ballyroan Abbey 0-3

A late second-half fightback wasn't enough for Laois side Ballyroan Abbey to turn the tide in this match.

Ballyroan Abbey were left scoreless at the break against a powerful Naomh Eanna side from Wexford, with Oisin Hobbs' goal helping his side to a 1-3 to 0-0 half-time lead. Points from Jake Cranny and Eoghan Whelan (2) got the Laois men back in contention but Adam Dunbar slotted over late on to make sure for Naomh Eanna.

Naomh Eanna -- R Hughes; J Willoughby, S O'Donnell, J Cullen; O Molloy, G Molloy, C Donoghue; N Sinnott, J Lynch; C Levingston, D Curley, T Doyle; C McGutchen, A Dunbar, O Hobbs.

Ballyroan Abbey -- E Oxley; D Whelan, C McEvoy, D McGowan; D Drennan, L Oxley, J Cranny; C Brennan, C Carroll; D Egan, L Delaney, B Walsh; P McDonald, E Whelan, C Whelan. Subs: B Dempsey, JJ Murphy, N Scully.

Ref -- B McCann

Killoe Og 2-3

Newtown Blues 0-6

Killoe Og of Longford saw off the strong challenge of Louth's Newtown Blues as the winners continued their ruthless form in the final after a huge 3-6 to 0-0 semi-final victory.

Newtown Blues provided the Longford champions their sternest test but they were deserved victors at the end.

Ennistymon 1-5

Warwickshire 1-4

Clare champions Ennistymon led from start to finish in this thrilling decider but they were made to fight to the death for their win.

A Cian Shannon goal helped them to a three-point lead at the break but Cianan Foley's fortuitous strike briefly restored parity midway through the second period.

Two superb scores from Ross O'Doherty edged Ennistymon back in front and they just held on.

Ennistymon -- D Torpey; C Murphy, C McInerney, C A Murphy; I Kerin, C Dillon, D Meskell; C Coughlan, C Crowe; A McCarthy, S Rouine, P O'Rourke; R O'Doherty, C Shannon, D Cullinan.

Warwickshire -- J Strafford; D Costello, J Phillips, S Fahy; S Monteith, M Mannion, C Kelly; C Reilly, C Folan; J Sargant, T Rabone, L Ward; D Berriman, B Robinson, A Carigan.

Ref -- P Gallagher

Gloucestershire 3-3

Delaware Co Gaels 0-5

Gloucestershire dug deep to see off a brave Delaware challenge in a distinctly international affair.

Liam Keating was the star man for Gloucestershire with a tally of 2-2 and they held off a late Delaware fightback spearheaded by their superb midfielder Joseph Konieczny.

Gloustershire -- C Cook, B Trigg, S Landry, L Findlay, L Evans, G Molloy, S Mendes, L Serini, F Young, P Stuckey, L Keating, L Fletcher, L Hill. Subs: O Palmer, H Burns.

Delaware County -- S Bradley, J Clinton, C Sheehan, E Clinton, J Clinton, C Kober, J Konieczny, J Donaghy, S Farrelly, R Higgins, K Hegarty, S Morgan, J O'Connell. Sub: P McGarry

Ref -- C Kelly.

St Ciaran's 0-6

Claregalway 0-3

Low scoring it may have been but there was no shortage of quality as Offaly champions St Ciaran's claimed the premier girls' title with a superb display over Claregalway.

The midlanders were immense at the back and they will look to some influential saves from 'keeper Natasha Lyons as the key to their victory.

The first half ended all square at 0-2 each, but it was in the second half that St Ciaran's really picked up the pace. Ellie McEvoy notched one and set up two for her diminutive team-mate Rachel Seery to open up a three point lead to claim the crown.

Scorers -- St Ciaran's: R Seery, E McEvoy 0-2 each, S Egan , R Egan 0-1 each. Claregalway: L Field 0-2, S O'Connell 0-1.

St Ciaran's -- N Lyons; G Kenny, E Maher, A Spain; M Egan, R Egan, A Grehan; MG Mangan, E Flynn; F Boland, R Seery, E McEvoy; S Heffernan, A Flynn, K Rigney. Subs: G Murray, S Egan.

Claregalway -- R Hansberry; A Phillips, E Gilmore, D Keane; C Moran, L Moran, K Gallagher; E Connolly, G Cahill; C Hanley, A Murphy, E Glynn; M Shaughnessy, S O'Connell, L Field. Sub: S Nash.

Ref -- N McCormack

Simonstown 1-2

Lurgan 0-4

Simonstown's midfield maestro Kelsey Nesbitt was the star as she accounted for all of her side's scores to edge past a brave Lurgan side.

Nesbitt's first half goal was the only score of the opening period but the game kicked into life after the restart and the Cavan girls made sure of a nailbiting climax thanks to a late brace of scores from Laura Keogan.

Simonstown -- A Fallon; L Barrett, R Hand, H O'Brien; S Lister, H O'Brien, N Hand; K Nesbitt, K Bellew; M Byrne, N Donnelly, L Grier; A Duffy, A English, T Bergin.

Lurgan -- C McElhinney; C Gaffney, R Ivaskeviciute, E Corcoran; S N Lynch, E Smith, K O'Rourke; A Maguire, E Lynch; C Lynch, C Lowery, C Dolan; N O'Donghue, L Keogan, S Yore. Subs: S Smith, K McDonnell.

Ref -- M Carty

Kilkenny City 1-5

The Downs 1-1

Kilkenny City overcame fellow Leinster side The Downs of Westmeath to bring a rare piece of footballing silverware to the Marble City in the shape of the Division 3 Girls title.

The Downs were favourites going in, especially after seeing off Antrim's St Brigid's by a big margin the day before, but the Kilkenny girls claimed the title with four points to spare.

New York 0-3

Bredagh 0-1

New York's girls set up the first part of a memorable double, despite it being the lowest scoring game of the day, to see off the Down girls.

Irish Independent

Most Read

  1. Model Forde