Sunday 21 January 2018

McMonagle's joy and agony

St Mary's, Edenderry 1-14
PBS Newbridge 2-8
(After extra-time)
Leinster Colleges SFC 'A'

Cian McMonagle was the St Mary's hero, coming off the bench to snatch the match-winning goal in the 68th minute of an enthralling tie in Newbridge.

McMonagle was forced to depart in agony with a suspected dislocated elbow later on but his contribution proved the difference, as the final 10-minute period failed to produce any score from two exhausted teams.

St Mary's looked the better side in the opening half and had a 0-7 to 0-3 interval advantage, Ciaran Hurley providing five of those scores.

Barry Coffey kept the home side in touch with his unerring accuracy from frees, and goalkeeper Thomas Kinsella was very solid between the posts, combining good handling with some alert shot-stopping.

The hosts were a much-improved outfit after the resumption.

They were helped by a very generous penalty award in the 40th minute and Coffey wrong-footed Ciaran Cummins from the spot to bring the sides level. When Ronan Fitzgibbon lashed home from close range six minutes later, it looked like PBS would progress to the second round.

St Mary's galvanised themselves, however, with Hurley and the very impressive Sean Doyle finding the target. Ger Leech hit the equaliser with just a minute remaining to bring the game to extra-time.

Scorers -- St Mary's: C Hurley 0-7 (0-4f), S Doyle 0-4, C McMonagle 1-0, G Leech 0-2, L Djennadi 0-1. PBS: B Coffey 1-6 (0-6f, 1-0 pen), R Fitzgibbon 1-0, D King 0-2.

St Mary's -- C Cummins; E Holton, T Hickey, C McNamee; C Nolan, E Farrell, P Foy; D Flynn, D Grehan; S Haslim, L Pender, S Doyle; H Murrin, C Hurley, G Leech. Subs: L Djennadi for Pender, C McMonagle for Murrin, T Kenny for Flynn, A O'Connell for Haslim, G Blong for Kenny, K O'Connell for McMonagle.

PBS -- T Kinsella; D Hartley, S Hurley, K Scully; C O'Connell, J Murray, A Burke; R Moore, G Collins; B Coffey, D King, R Houlihan; E Doyle, L McDermott, R Fitzgibbon. Subs: P Moran for Burke, C Hanrahan for Houlihan, Burke for Collins, D Miller for O'Connell.

Ref -- G McCormack (Dublin).

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport