Friday 15 November 2019

McMahon makes Pat's pay the penalty


St Macartan's of Monaghan secured the last semi-final place in this season's competition in the most dramatic of circumstances when they edged past a fancied St Patrick's Dungannon side at Emyvale on Saturday.

With the game deep in injury-time and trailing by two points, the Monaghan lads were awarded a penalty when Fearghal McMahon was pulled down.

The centre half-forward got up and took the kick himself – and confidently dispatched it to the bottom left-hand corner of the net for what proved to be the last kick of the game.

It was the Tyrone lads who had made all the early running as they established a 1-4 to 0-2 lead with Jarlath O'Rourke and Deasun Quinn supplying points, with the latter also converting a penalty.

Dungannon were then unlucky when Ruairi McGlone crashed the ball off the bar and that seemed to inspire St Macartan's.

McMahon and Conor McCarthy had points before Tom Hayes bagged a goal – and McMahon and McCarthy tagged on further points as St Macartan's led 1-6 to 1-4 at half-time.

Dungannon had the wind at their backs in the second half but despite dominating possession they failed to make it count.

Going into the final quarter the gap had grown to three points with O'Rourke and Hayes on target for their respective sides.

Quinn reduced the gap before O'Rourke scored their second goal to put the Dungannon school in front.

Michael Lynn then put them two ahead and it looked as though they had done enough until that late penalty – when McMahon settled the contest.

Scorers – St Macartan's: F McMahon 1-4 (2f, 1-0 pen), C McCarthy 0-4 (1f), T Hayes 1-1.

St Patrick's: D Quinn 1-5 (5f, 1-0 pen), J O'Rourke 1-2 (2f), M Lynn 0-1.

St Macartan's Monaghan – C Forde; C McElwain, K Loughran, S Treanor; C Carragher, L Smyth, M O'Dowd; J McAleer, N Rooney; R Sheehan, F McMahon, C McCarthy; A Curran, M McCarville, T Hayes. Subs: D McAlister for Sheehan, C McAnenly for O'Dowd, G Brennan for Carragher.

St Patrick's Dungannon – S O'Neill; B Gavin, S Corr, M O'Neill; S Hamill, C Mallon, C McCabe; P McKenna, R McGlone; C McCann, S McGrath, M Lynn; J O'Rourke, D Quinn, C Byrne. Subs: R Quinn for McCabe, C O'Donnell for Byrne, P Donnelly for McCann, T Donnelly for O'Rourke.

Ref – C Brannigan (Down)

Irish Independent

The Left Wing: Champions Cup preview, the World Cup hangover and Joe Schmidt's next team

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport