| 12.8°C Dublin

McGrath strikes as Tipp set up Rebel clash

Liam McGrath kicked the winning point in the sixth minute of injury-time as Tipperary secured a sensational semi-final victory at Semple Stadium last night. The hosts came from 11 points down to snatch a first victory over Kerry at this grade since 2002.

Kerry bagged three goals in the first 16 minutes through Ciaran Keating, Jamie Moriarty and Padraig Boyle to lead by 3-6 to 0-5 at the break but Tipp outscored them by 2-7 to 0-2 in the second half. Colman Kennedy's goal levelled it, then Michael Quinlivan put Tipp ahead. Keating's point, in the fifth minute of stoppage time, looked to have salvaged extra-time, but McGrath snatched victory.

Scorers -- Tipperary: C Kennedy (0-1f), M Quinlivan 1-1 each, I Fahey 0-4 (2f, 1 '45'), L McGrath 0-2, S O'Brien, G Henry, TJ Ryan, P Quirke 0-1 each. Kerry: C Keating 1-2, J Moriarty 1-1, P Boyle 1-0, K McCarthy 0-2, J O'Donoghue 0-2f, S McCarthy 0-1.

TIPPERARY -- G Slattery; N O'Sullivan, C O'Sullivan, S Kennedy; A McGuire, D Fitzell, B Maher; S O'Brien, D Butler; I Fahey, G Henry, D Lonergan; L McGrath, M Quinlivan, TJ Ryan. Subs: P Quirke for Butler (17), C Kennedy for Lonergan (h-t), C O'Riordan for McGuire (h-t), J Lonergan for Henry (59).

KERRY -- S Murphy; P Ó Sé, T Morley, C Fitzgerald; M O'Connor, R Murphy, K Murphy; G O'Leary, S Keane; I McCarthy, P Boyle, J O'Donoghue; J Moriarty, C Keating, K McCarthy. Subs: N Sheehy for O'Donoghue (30+1), S McCarthy for I McCarthy (40).

Ref -- J Bermingham (Cork).

Cork 1-16

Clare 0-6

Reigning champions Cork cruised into the final last night after scoring 1-1 in the opening 90 seconds at Cusack Park. From the throw-in, Mark Sugrue waltzed through the Clare defence before unleashing a powerful shot to the top corner.

Moments later Cathal Vaughan converted a 20-metre free, and although the game was scoreless for the next 17 minutes, the Rebels were the stronger side and led by 1-5 to 0-3 at the break. Cork then pulled away with some fine scores from Dan McEoin, Cian O'Sullivan and Sugrue and will meet Tipperary in the final on July 3.

Scorers -- Cork: M Sugrue 1-2, D McEoin 0-5, C Vaughan 0-3 (2 f), C O'Sulivan, B O'Driscoll (1 '45') 0-2 each, S O'Mahony 0-1, J Corkery (f) 0-1 each. Clare: N Hickey 0-3f, E Cleary 0-2 (1f), J Malone 0-1.

Cork -- J McDonnell; J Davis, C Dorman, K Fulignati (capt); K Crowley, B O'Driscoll, T Brosnan; S Kiely, K Kavanagh; M Sugrue, D Harrington, C Vaughan; D McEoin, S O'Mahony, C O'Sullivan. Subs: A Cadogen for Harrington (h-t), J Corkery for O Mahony (40), D Murphy for Brosnan (48), K McIntyre for O'Sullivan (54), A O'Connell for Kavanagh (56).

Clare -- D Sexton; O Vaughan, J Malone, C Galvin (capt); S Lineen, D McDonagh, J Scanlon; A O'Neill, C Cleary; E Cleary, C Devitt, J Colleran; M O'Leary, N Hickey, J Rouine. Subs: W Flynn for Rouine (h-t), L Corbett for Devitt (40), C O'Brien for Lineen (48), E Donnellan for Scanlon (54), D Bolton for C Cleary (56).

Ref -- S Joy (Kerry).

Irish Independent