| 13.2°C Dublin

McGlone sparkles for Tyrone

DONEGAL kicked a staggering 19 wides as they went down to reigning champions Tyrone in Ballybofey.

Ronan Nugent's fortuitous 15th-minute goal set Tyrone on their way.

Darach O'Connor had given Donegal the lead, but with the Ruairi McGlone kicking over two excellent scores and Daire Gallagher and Conor McKenna on target, Tyrone took control of the game.

Donegal's lack of killer touch in the final third proved to be their downfall.

They did get a goal six minutes after the restart when O'Connor batted home, but with McKenna, Padraig McGirr and sub Che O'Donnell on the mark, it was the Red Hands who scored the win.

Scorers – Tyrone: R Nugent 1-0, R McGlone 0-3, C McKenna 0-2, D Gallagher, D Mulgrew, P McGirr C O'Donnell 0-1 each. Donegal: D O'Connor 1-1, C Mulligan, C Harkin (f) 0-1 each.

Tyrone – S Fox 7; C Byrne 6, R Quinn 7, C McCann 6; S Hamill 6, C Morris 6, P McGirr 7; R Nugent 7, F Burns 6; L Brennan, R McGlone 8, M Lynn 6; C McKenna 7, D Gallagher 6, D Mulgrew 6. Subs: R McHugh 6 for Nugent (43), S Fox 6 for Byrne (50), C O'Donnell 6 for Lynn (54), T Donnelly 5 for McKenna (60).

Donegal – P Byrne 6; J Scally, 6 J O'Brien 5, E Scally 6; C Mulligan 8, E McGrath 6, C Kelly 7; C O'Donnell 6, P McLaughlin 6; C McCormick 5, L Connor 5, C Harkin 5; A Sweeney 6, D O'Connor 7, J Brennan 6. Subs: C Thompson 5 for McCormick (25), C Gallagher 6 for Kelly (h-t), A McGinley6 for Brennan (h-t), C McCormick 5 for Connor (44).

Ref – D Connolly (Monaghan)

Irish Independent