Friday 24 November 2017

McDermott goal crucial for Cavan

CAVAN 1-10

Cian Murphy

CAVAN maintained their 100pc record in semi-finals at this level to book their place in the decider.

Having only progressed to the last four when winning the Ulster title on Wednesday night, Cavan, nonetheless, proved too strong for Wexford at Parnell Park on Saturday to reach their third All-Ireland final, having previously featured in 1988 and 1996.

The eventual wides tally of 10-3 told its own sad story for Wexford, who only won their first Leinster title a couple of weeks ago.

Cavan fans enjoyed a five-to-one advantage in the huge crowd of around 6,000 and they were in full voice early on as the Breffni Blues opened brightly, with Kevin Meehan and Michael Brady strong at the back and full-forward Niall McDermott looking lethal.

However, a preoccupation with slow build-ups was very nearly Cavan's undoing and Wexford crept into contention through the hard work of midfielder Michael O'Regan and impressive attacking wing-back Conor Carty.

Indeed, Wexford would have moved clear were it not for some poor finishing and a Barry Reilly free levelled the match for Cavan at 0-4 apiece at the break.

From the restart, Cavan switched their game to the long delivery with devastating effect. After just three minutes, one such delivery into the inside line allowed Jack Brady to set up McDermott to crash to the net for the decisive goal.

Wexford countered and had a dream goal chance two minutes later, but Emmet Kent blasted his point-blank shot off the post. It was destined to be that kind of night for Wexford as Cavan went on to dominate to the finish.

SCORERS -- Cavan: N McDermott 1-2, J Brady 0-3 (1f), B Reilly 0-2 (2f), M Brady, G McKiernan, N Smith 0-1 each. Wexford: C Carty 0-5 (3f), M O'Regan (1f), K Kehoe, D Murphy 0-1 each.

CAVAN -- A O'Mara; D Barkey, O Minagh, D Tighe; M Leddy K Meehan, M Brady; G McKiernan, B Reilly; N Smith, N Murray, F Flanagan; J Brady, N McDermott, P Leddy. Subs: P King for Leddy (45), T Mooney for M Brady (48), C McClarey for N Smith (50), K Tierney for B Reilly (52), C Smith for P Leddy (58).

WEXFORD -- R Farrell; M Furlong, S Gaule, J Breen; D Butler, J Leacy, C Carty; M O'Hanlon, M O'Regan; L Og McGovern, E Kent, P Kelly; K O'Grady, K Kehoe, B Halpin. Subs: D Murphy for Halpin (40), T Rossiter for K O'Grady (52), C Lane for Breen (53), J Boggan for P Kelly (55), B O'Gorman for Kent (60).

Ref -- P O'Sullivan (Kerry).

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport