Sport Gaelic Football

Monday 20 November 2017

Lethal Kearney 'ecstatic' after Queen's soar to maiden title

Queen's, Belfast 4-10 Dublin City University 1-9

Jackie Cahill O'Connor

WESTMEATH star Ruth Kearney was "ecstatic" after her haul of 2-3 helped Queen's claim a historic triumph at Waterford IT.

Kearney was Player of the match as favourites DCU, appearing in their fourth final in five years, were overrun in the second half.

Queen's were taken to extra-time by holders UCC in Friday's semi-finals, but there were no signs of fatigue as the side, managed by Armagh boss James Daly, stormed to a 10-point victory.

Kearney beamed: "I'm just ecstatic – it's brilliant. We came down here with only one goal and that was to win. We weren't coming down just to make up numbers. It's the first time we've ever won it. It's fantastic for the college."

Daly said: "We did a lot of hard work on our fitness all year – 45-50 sessions – and it paid off."

Queen's played with a sweeper, but the message at half-time, with the Belfast college leading by 3-2 to 1-5, was to go for the jugular.

All but one point of the Queen's total was scored from play.

Queen's finished with 14 players after Caitlin Malone, who scored the goal that took a dramatic semi-final against UCC to extra-time, was sin-binned late on.

But Queen's were 10 points clear at that stage and DCU scored just four points in the second half.

Scorers – Queen's: R Kearney 2-3, M Cooper (0-1f), L Kelly 1-1 each, F McKenna 0-3, C Scullion, N McKernan 0-1 each. DCU: E McCarron 1-4 (0-1f), C McHugh (1f), L Peat 0-2 each, B Walsh 0-1.

QUEEN'S – K Daly (Armagh); L Sharvin (Down), N McAnulla (Tyrone), S Marley (Armagh); N McKernan (Tyrone), T McLaughlin (Tyrone), C Scullion (Tyrone); S McCleary (Armagh), C Malone (Armagh); D Morgan (Armagh), F McKenna (Armagh), R Kearney (Westmeath); L McCann (Antrim), M Cooper (Antrim), L Kelly (Tyrone). Subs: A Canavan (Tyrone) for McCann, T McCusker (Tyrone) for Kelly, E Fitzsimmons (Antrim) for McKernan.

DCU – M Guckian (Leitrim); A Towey (Mayo), L Peat (Dublin), A Barrett (Dublin); S Greene (Cavan), L Collins (Dublin), A Brady (Westmeath); C McManamon (Mayo), B Walsh (Galway); C Hegarty (Mayo), L McEnaney (Monaghan), C McHugh (Roscommon); E McCarron (Monaghan), R Colleary (Sligo), B O'Sullivan (Cork). Subs: L Ryder (Mayo) for Collins, C O'Brien (Offaly) for McHugh, L McCann (Meath) for Hegarty.

Ref – K Delahunty (Tipperary).

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport