Thursday 18 January 2018

Leahy goes extra mile for CBS

(after extra-time)

ROSCOMMON CBS claimed their first All-Ireland crown at Cusack Park, Mullingar, after a pulsating encounter that needed an extra 20minutes to separate two fine sides.

Scoil Mhuire sprinted into a fivepoint lead inside 10 minutes, with star forward Conor Herbert registering all of his side’s 1-3.

Roscommon overcame their early jitters and, courtesy of points from Michael Gunning, Cian Connolly, Mark Nally and wingback Oliver Hannon, fought back to within a point at the interval.

After the break, Enda Lannon equalised and then Cian Connolly coolly slotted home a penalty before increasing the CBS lead to four points with 20 minutes left.

Herbert then helped Clane draw level to force extra-time. But in additional time, Clane’s Declan Flaherty was dismissed for a second yellow card. And in a tense finish, a point from substitute Peter Leahy sealed it for Roscommon.

SCORERS – Roscommon CBS: C Connolly 1-4 (1-0 pen, 3f), E Lannon 0-3 (3f), M Gunning 0-2, O Hannon, B Fannon, P Leahy, M Nally 0-1 each. Scoil Mhuire, Clane: C Herbert 1-8 (4f), P Clifford, K Swords 0-1 each.

ROSCOMMON CBS – M Whyte; P Fallon, T Featherston, C Shaw; O Hannon, J McManus, J Miley; M Nally, D Brandon; C Kenny, M Healy, B Fannon; C Connolly, E Lannon, M Gunning.

Subs: R Byrne for Miley (36), P Leahy for Gunning (54), D Rooney for C Kenny (56), M McNeill for Shaw (70), C Kenny for Rooney (72).

SCOIL MHUIRE, CLANE – P McKenna; K O’Connor, S Byrne, H Giffney; E Kelly, P Clifford, B Dowling; K Connor, S Christensen; D Flaherty, K Giblin, M Baneham; C Herbert,C Kilkenny, K Swords.

Subs: T Cribben for Kilkenny (70), D Callan for Giblin (77).

REF – S Carroll (Westmeath).

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport