Tuesday 12 December 2017

Keenan sets Fuerty on path to glory

Fuerty 0-18 Headford 0-12

(After extra-time)

Connacht club JFC final

Gearoid Ennis and Niall Kilroy led the way as Roscommon champions Fuerty won the title for the first time.

Headford were poised to become the third Galway club in succession to win junior honours when a late comeback gave them the lead nearing full-time, but Niall Keenan's injury-time score forced extra-time and the Roscommon men took the initiative from there on.

Headford led 0-6 to 0-4 at the break but failed to score again until the 51st minute and in that time Fuerty hit six points without reply and looked certainties to take the title. But five points in seven minutes gave Headford the upper hand after an Aaron McDonagh-inspired comeback was halted as Keenan forced extra-time.

And four points in the first period of extra-time sealed a deserved victory for Fuerty.

Scorers – Fuerty: G Ennis 0-8 (5fs), N Kilroy 0-6, N Keenan, P Leahy 0-2 each. Headford: N Meeneghan 0-7 (6fs), S Meeneghan 0-5 (1f).

Fuerty – J Fallon; P Neilan, P Kelehan, M Keaveney; S Melia, T Bannon, D Delaney; E Bannon, F Hanlon; N Keenan, N Kilroy, P Leahy; G Ennis, G Fallon, R Fallon. Subs: A Moore for M Keaveney (26), N Connolly for G Fallon (h-t), E Whyte for Delaney (60), M Connaughton for Hanlon (68), M Keaveney for Melia (78).

Headford – N Walsh; J Leahy, R O'Toole, F Joyce; P Joyce, K Carey, B Carey; D Bane, E McHugh; N Meenaghan, C Sullivan, P Walsh; S Meeneghan, A Meeneghan, E Flynn. Subs: A McDonagh for Flynn (40), E Hannon for Walsh (46), D Corbett for Bane (46), D Moran for F Joyce (50), N Cunningham for Sullivan (58), P Walsh for A Meeneghan (68).

Ref – L Devenney (Mayo).

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport