| 6.1°C Dublin

In the name of the forefathers

Dublin -- Parnell Park.

Named after Charles Stewart Parnell.

  • Meath -- Pairc Tailteann, Navan.

The Tailteann Games originated just a few miles away.

  • Louth -- Gaelic Grounds, Drogheda.
  • Kildare -- St Conleth's Park, Newbridge. A saintly gesture.
  • Offaly -- O'Connor Park, Tullamore. Named after a local tribe.
  • Wicklow -- Aughrim.

Known simply as Aughrim.

  • Wexford -- Wexford Park, Wexford.
  • Laois -- O'Moore Park, Portlaoise.

Another tribal offering.

  • Longford -- Pearse Park, Longford. One of two grounds devoted to Padraig Pearse.
  • Westmeath -- Cusack Park, Mullingar. One of two grounds named after founding father Michael Cusack.
  • Carlow -- Dr Cullen Park, Carlow.

A bishop from the area with a fond interest in Gaelic games.

  • Kilkenny -- Nowlan Park, Kilkenny. Named after local man James Nowlan, the longest-serving president of the GAA.
  • Clare -- The other ground named after Michael Cusack.
  • Cork -- Pairc Ui Chaoimh.

Padraig O Caoimh was the GAA's general secretary from 1929 to 1964 and was reared in Cork.

  • Kerry -- Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney. Dick Fitzgerald is one of the few footballers to have a county ground named after him.
  • Limerick -- Gaelic Grounds, Limerick.
  • Tipperary -- Semple Stadium, Thurles. Tom Semple was a Thurles Sarsfields and Tipperary player, referee and administrator in the early part of the last decade.
  • Waterford -- Walsh Park.

Willie Walsh was a well known GAA and republican activist in the city.

  • Galway -- Pearse Stadium.

A Padraig Pearse dedication again.

  • Mayo -- McHale Park.

Named after a former Archbishop of Tuam from the area.

  • Sligo -- Markievicz Park.

Taken from Countess Markievicz.

  • Leitrim -- Pairc Sean MacDiarmada. One of the architects of the Easter Rising was Leitrim-born.
  • Roscommon -- Dr Hyde Park.

The first president of Ireland, Dr Douglas Hyde, was born in Roscommon.

  • Monaghan -- St Tiernach's Park, Clones. Named after a local saint.
  • Cavan -- Kingspan Breffni Park (below), Cavan.

Breffni is the county name, Kingspan are the ground sponsors.

  • Donegal -- McCumhaill Park, Ballybofey. Takes its name from Sean MacCumhail, a local Ballybofey club man of renown.
  • Derry -- Celtic Park. Traditionally called Celtic Park.
  • Antrim -- Casement Park.

Roger Casement is perpetually honoured in Andersonstown.

  • Down -- Pairc Esler.

Fr Esler was a young curate in Newry when he secured the land for the current pitch.

  • Armagh -- Athletic Grounds.

Now the subject of naming interest.

  • Tyrone -- Healy Park.

The ground is owned by Omagh St Enda's. Michael Healy was a local man.

  • Fermanagh -- Brewster Park.

The ground is owned by Enniskillen Gaels and was named after the late Mickey Brewster, a former Fermanagh and Enniskillen player.

Irish Independent