| 7.4°C Dublin

Howard and Corkery help Rebels lord it over Kingdom

All-Ireland champions Cork completed an eight-in-a-row haul of titles with this one-sided victory over Munster 'B' winners Kerry, played under lights at Rathmore yesterday evening.

Fielding 10 of last year's winning team and with a fair sprinkling of last year's All-Ireland minor runners-up panel, the Rebels simply had too many big guns for a Kingdom side that have no schools playing in the 'A' competitions.

Padraig Boyle gave Kerry the lead from a second-minute free, but that was as good as it got for the home side, as Cork, with Stephen O'Mahony and Mark Howard ruling the roost at midfield, simply overran and outgunned the Kerry defence.

A succession of points and a two-goal salvo in the 10th and 11th minutes from Mark Howard and impressive corner-forward John Corkery effectively put the game beyond the Kingdom.

Cork led 2-8 to 0-2 at the interval, but then appeared to take their foot of the pedal in the second period -- though Kerry native Jeff O'Donoghue did kick two fine points for the winners.

Kerry failed to score from play over the hour, despite enjoying lots of second-half possession, with Kerry minor Thomas Hickey scoring two frees.

Cork now move on to the All-Ireland semi-final, while Kerry revert to the 'B' series.

Scorers -- Cork: J Corkery 1-3, M Howard 1-0, M Vaughan (0-3f), J O'Donoghue (0-2f) 0-3 each, C Cullinane 0-2, M Sugrue, G O'Callaghan (f) 0-1 each Kerry: T Hickey 0-2f, P Boyle 0-1f.

Cork -- S Masters; J Ryan, E Delaney, N McCarthy; L O'Neill, D O'Connell, T J Brosnan; S O'Mahoney, M Howard; S Ryan, M Sugrue, M Vaughan; C Cullinane, J O'Donoghue, J Corkery Subs: C Flanagan for M Vaughan, A Gould for S Ryan, G Farrell for M Howard, G O'Callaghan for J Corkery, J Daly for L O'Neill

Kerry -- J J Casey; K Walz, M Brosnan, N MacGearailt; T O'Connell, F McNamara, G Buckley; S Reilly, M Horan; J O'Connor, P Boyle, D O'Connell; T Hickey, D O'Brien, S Weir Subs: L McCarthy for S O'Reilly, G McCarthy for D O'Connell, D Hogan for J O'Connor, J Lyne for K Walz, D Roche for T O'Connell

Ref -- S Hourigan (Rathkeale)

Irish Independent