Sport Gaelic Football

Friday 23 February 2018

How provincial winners fare in quarter-finals

Win the provincial football title, lose the All-Ireland quarter-final. It's an experience that 21 of 40 teams have endured since the introduction of the qualifiers in 2001.

Connacht champions have a dismal quarter-final record (eight defeats in 10 seasons) while it's 6-4 against the Leinster and Ulster winners, leaving Munster (Kerry and Cork) as the jewel in the provincial crown with a highly impressive record of nine wins out of 10.

2001 -- Roscommon (lost), Meath (won), Kerry (won), Tyrone (lost).

2002 -- Galway (lost), Dublin (won), Cork (won), Armagh (won).

2003 -- Galway (lost), Laois (lost), Kerry (won), Tyrone (won).

2004 -- Mayo (won), Westmeath (lost), Kerry (won), Armagh (lost).

2005 -- Galway (lost), Dublin (lost), Kerry (won), Armagh (won).

2006 -- Mayo (won), Dublin (won), Cork (won), Armagh (lost).

2007 -- Sligo (lost), Dublin (won), Kerry (won), Tyrone (lost).

2008 -- Galway (lost), Dublin (lost), Cork (won), Armagh (lost).

2009 -- Mayo (lost), Dublin (lost), Cork (won), Tyrone (won).

2010 -- Roscommon (lost), Meath (lost), Kerry (lost), Tyrone (lost).

Totals -- Connacht: Won 2, Lost 8. Leinster: Won 4, Lost 6. Munster: Won 9, Lost 1. Ulster: Won 4, Lost 6.

Overall provincial winners' record -- Won 19, Lost 21.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport