Sunday 17 November 2019

Hehir leads Galway stroll into decider

ligo 0-7
Roscommon 0-15
Leitrim 0-6

Mark Hehir and Eric Monaghan were the outstanding forwards as Galway pulverised Sligo in an embarrassingly one-sided semi-final at Markievicz Park.

Hehir contributed nine points, eight of these in the Galway-dominated first-half, while Monaghan scored 2-3 as Alan Mulholland's charges to set up a final meeting with Roscommon.

With Galway regularly slicing open Sligo's defence -- midfielders Tomas Flynn and Fiontán Ó Curraoin were completely dominant -- it was a case of how many scores the winners would register and their interval lead of 16 points, 1-14 to 0-1, summed up Sligo's plight.

Scorers -- Galway: M Hehir 0-9 (6f), E Monaghan 2-3, M Boyle 0-4, (1 '45'), D Cummins, P Sweeney 0-2 each. Sligo: B Harris 0-4 (1 '45'), P Clarke, D Maye (1f), B Egan 0-1 each.

Galway -- M Breathnach; G Sweeney, C Forde, A Tierney; J Moore, J Duane, T Fahy; T Flynn, F ó Curraoin; C Doherty, M Hehir, M Boyle; D Cummins, P Sweeney, E Monaghan. Subs:

C Halloran for G Sweeney (52), A Murphy for M Boyle (52), C Silke for J Moore (56), S Bohan for T Flynn (57), M Kelly for P Sweeney (57).

Sligo -- B McGovern; L O'Connell, C Davey, J Kelly; R McGarrigle, B O'Boyle, D Gilsenan; J Clarke, C Griffin; B Harris, P Hughes, B Egan; N Judge, P Clarke, D Maye. Subs: N McDonagh for J Clarke (22), V Frizzell for N Judge (h-t), G Cawley for B O'Boyle (h-t), J Rogers for P Clarke (48), E Lindsay for C Davey (52).

Ref --J Henry (Mayo).

defending champions Roscommon earned a clear-cut victory over an average Leitrim team in a poor contest at Carrick-on-Shannon.

The visitors led 0-8 to 0-3 at half-time and clinched victory with five unanswered points in the second half before Leitrim managed the last score of the match.

Scorers -- Roscommon: S Regan 0--5 (4f), N Kilroy 0--4 (1f), D McDermott, S Oates (2f) 0--2 each, E Stritch, N Daly 0--1. Leitrim: C Beirne 0--4 (1f), N O'Connor, K Moran 0--1.

Roscommon -- N Connaughton; C Duignan, N Collins, C Cafferky; E Bannon, N Daly, P Brogan; E Stritch, A Feehily; Donal Keane, S Oates, S Regan; N Kilroy, C Compton, D McDermott. Sub: E Kenny for Compton (59).

Leitrim -- P Farrelly; S Ryan, M Beirne, J O'Brien; J Beirne, S McWeeney, N Clancy; K Moran, N O'Connor; R Baker-Kenny, S Moran, M Quinn; K Conlan, S McNabola, C Beirne. Subs: D Flynn for Ryan (h-t), C Gilheaney for Conlan (37), T Cornyn for Clancy (44), R Burke for McNabola (47).

Ref -- V Neary (Mayo)

Irish Independent

The Left Wing: Champions Cup preview, the World Cup hangover and Joe Schmidt's next team

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport