Monday 18 December 2017

Grimley questions new rules after Derry find an extra gear

DERRY 2-16 ARMAGH 2-15

Declan Mullan, Derry, in action against Charlie Vernon, Armagh
Declan Mullan, Derry, in action against Charlie Vernon, Armagh

TWO Armagh players were shown the black card as Derry claimed the trophy in this final at Crossmaglen. Ethan Rafferty (60 minutes) and Brian Mallon (77) were dismissed for dragging opponents down.

"Under those rules, they were black cards, but I'm no big fan of it," said Armagh manager Paul Grimley. "I don't think a rule change was needed but we have to live with it now."

The sides finished level at 2-13 apiece after normal time, having also been deadlocked on 0-7 each at half-time.

Declan Mullan and Mark Lynch got the goals for Derry with Kyle Carragher and Jamie Clarke (a penalty) raising green flags for Armagh. Derry sub James Kearney scored the winning point in the second half of extra-time.

Scorers -- Derry: M Lynch 1-2 (1f), B Heron 0-3 (1f), D Mullan 1-0, J Kielt, E Lynn 0-2 each, M Craig, SL McGoldrick, F Doherty, A Kerrigan, C O'Boyle, P Cassidy, J Kearney 0-1 each. Armagh: K Carragher 1-2, J Clarke 1-1 (1-0 pen), S Forker 0-3 (2fs), A Forker (2fs), C Rafferty 0-2 each, R Tasker, S Campbell, E Rafferty, S Harold, E McVerry 0-1 each.

DERRY -- T Mallon; O Duffy, C McKaigue, M McShane; C McAtamney, M Craig, SL McGoldrick; F Doherty, M Lynch; C McFaul, J Kielt, E Lynn; A O'Neill, E McGuckin, A Kerrigan. Subs: D McBride for McShane (h-t), D Mullan for Kerrigan (h-t), B Heron for O'Neill, C O'Boyle for McGuckin (h-t), P Bradley for Doherty (47), D Brown for Duffy (52), C Conway for McAtamney (65), J Kearney for Lynn (66), C McWilliams for Craig (66), C Kielt for McGoldrick (67), P Cassidy for Lynch (70).

ARMAGH -- P Rodgers; P Hughes, G McCooey, M Murray; C McKeever, C Vernon, R Grugan; A Findon, P O'Neill; R Tasker, S Campbell, A Forker; K Carragher, E Rafferty, S Forker. Subs: J Clarke for O'Neill (25), S Harold for Findon (35), M Shields for McKeever (h-t), E McVerry for S Forker (43), C Rafferty for Grugan (48), B Mallon for Campbell (50), K Toner for E Rafferty (61), N Geoghan for Rodgers (62), N McConville for Tasker (63), K O'Rourke for Carragher (68).

REF -- B Rice (Down)

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport