Sunday 18 March 2018

Gilmore secures decider spot with late goal

Cookstown 2-11
Naomh Anna 1-10
All-Ireland club IFC s/F

Tyrone and Ulster champions Cookstown are through to the final after getting the better of Galway champions Naomh Anna in foggy conditions at Pearse Park, Longford yesterday.

Cookstown led 0-8 to 0-4 at the break with Tyrone attacker Owen Mulligan landing a trio of quality points and Christopher Eastwood and Conor Mullan also on target. Patrick O'Fatharta and Ferdia Breathnach were on target for Naomh Anna.

Ten minutes into the second half Barry Mulligan grabbed a Cookstown goal and when Owen Mulligan, Eastwood and Mullan tagged on points they were eight ahead.

Naomh Anna fought back with points from O'Fatharta and Breathnach and a goal from Ciaran Bairead. Cookstown, though, refused to panic and a last-minute goal from substitute John Gilmore sealed victory.

Scorers -- Cookstown: Barry Mulligan 1-1, O Mulligan 0-4, J Gilmore 1-0, C Mullan, C Eastwood 0-3 each. Naomh Anna: P O'Fatharta 0-6, C Bairead 1-0, F Breathnach 0-3, D MacDonnchadha 0-1.

Cookstown -- M Rea, P Kelly, S Monaghan, P McGurk, S McGarrity, B Hughes, C O'Hare, G Fitzpatrick, R Mulgrew, C Mullan, Barry Mulligan, Brian Mulligan, C Eastwood, O Mulligan, M Murray. Subs: J Gilmore for Brian Mulligan, B Kelly for P Kelly, B O'Neill for Fitzpatrick.

Naomh Anna - E O'Conghaile, C O'Hogain, S Seoige, P Mac an Roigh, M O'Ceallaigh, C Bairead, T O'Griofa, A O'Griofa, C O'Flatharta, C O'Conghaile, F Breathnach, D MacDonnchadha, P O'Fatharta, F Breathnach, P Seoige. Subs:E O'Loinsigh for C O' Conghaile, C O'Conghaile for Seosamh Seoige, E O'Cathain for F Breathnach.

Ref -- S Carroll (Westmeath).

Irish Independent

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport