Sport Gaelic Football

Sunday 19 November 2017

Galvin left on Kerry bench as Maher replaces injured Scanlon

Martin Breheny and Donnchadh Boyle

KERRY manager Jack O'Connor has made two enforced changes for Saturday's Munster semi-final date with Limerick at the Gaelic Grounds -- but there is still no place for Paul Galvin in the Kingdom side.

Debutant Shane Enright comes in at corner-back to replace Tomas O Se, with Killian Young switching out to the wing.

Anthony Maher is a straight swap for the injured Seamus Scanlon at midfield, but Galvin -- who had struggled with a hamstring injury -- is left on the bench despite completing 60 minutes for his club last weekend.

Limerick boss Maurice Horan has named his first championship 15, with Tom Lee at midfield alongside Jim Donovan.

Barry Fitzpatrick skippers the side from wing-back in an experienced line-up that includes Seanie Buckley, Stephen Lavin and Ger Collins. Dual star Stephen Lucey misses out with a hamstring injury and is also a major doubt for Sunday week's Munster hurling clash with Waterford.

In Laois, Justin McNulty has named an unchanged side for the trip to Croke Park to face the Dubs on Sunday. That means there's no place in the starting side for Donie Kingston or Padraig Clancy, with Billy Sheehan flanked by MJ Tierney and Ross Munnelly in the full-forward line, while former AFL pair Colm Begley and Brendan Quigley start in midfield.

Meanwhile, Anthony Daly has added Michael Carton to his Dublin hurling squad ahead of their Leinster championship semi-final against either Westmeath or Galway in Tullamore on June 18. The wing-back had opted out of the Dublin set-up in November after a year in which injury hampered his hopes of commanding a regular place.

Elsewhere, Carlow will be without JJ Smith for Sunday week's Leinster quarter-final clash with Louth after being hit with a 16-week suspension, arising from an incident in the Allianz Football League clash with Longford.

He was reported for 'striking with the head' which carries an 8-week ban, but it was doubled as it was his second offence in the two-month suspension range over the past twelve months. He will stand suspended until July 2 so it remains to be seen if he gets any championship action this year.

Sligo will be without Brian Curran for their All-Ireland qualifier tie on June 25 after the centre-back picked up an eight-week ban for stamping during the defeat by Leitrim.

Dublin's Philip McMahon has escaped sanction on a rather curiously categorised charge. He was reported for 'disruptive conduct at games by players' during the league final clash with Cork but, after he requested a hearing, the charge was withdrawn by CCCC.

Fermanagh hurler Cathal McGarry also withdrew his appeal against a 12-week ban for 'threatening language to umpires'.

Limerick (SF v Kerry) -- B Scanlon; S Lavin, S Gallagher, M O'Riordan; P Ranahan, J McCarthy, B Fitzpatrick; J Donovan, T Lee; S Buckley, J Kelly, S Kelly; G Collins, J Cooke, I Ryan.

Kerry -- B Kealy; S Enright, M O Se, T O'Sullivan; A O'Mahony, E Brosnan, K Young; A Maher, B Sheehan; Darran O'Sullivan, Declan O'Sullivan, D Walsh; C Cooper (capt), K Donaghy, K O'Leary.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport