Sunday 17 December 2017

Flanagan named new Sligo boss

Pat Flanagan was last night appointed Sligo's new football manager, five months on from Kevin Walsh's departure.

It is expected he will be supported in the role by the county's 2013 minor manager Glenn Young.

It is the last inter-county football management role to be filled ahead of the start of the 2014 season.

Sligo are immersed in a heavy €1.5m debt and have been in negotiations with Croke Park over a loan facility to help them alleviate some of that.

Former Mayo, Roscommon and Fermanagh manager John Maughan and former Mayo footballer Michael Moyles were linked with the role in recent weeks.


FORMER Derry defender Kevin McGuckin has had his suspension lifted in time to face Glenswilly in next Sunday's Ulster Club SFC final but Ballinderry still have injury worries over Enda Muldoon and Aaron Devlin.

McGuckin was red-carded in their semi-final against Kilcoo on the advice of a lineman but successfully appealed his suspension to the Ulster Council and has been cleared to play.

Muldoon and Devlin only came off the bench in the later stages of that semi-final and are still battling to get fully fit for Sunday's final in Omagh. Glenswilly, who are only the third Donegal side in the last 38 years to reach the Ulster final, have injury worries over Leon Kelly.


FORMER Tyrone underage star Conal McCullagh has joined the Tipperary football panel for the 2014 campaign.

McCullagh (25) completed a club transfer from Glenelly in Tyrone to Clonmel Commercials last September and he has now linked up with Peter Creedon's Tipperary squad. Half-forward McCullagh played minor and U-21 football for Tyrone.

Meanwhile, renowned athletics coach Hayley Harrison is another addition to Creedon's set-up.


PAUL Gilheaney vacated the Dublin ladies senior football team manager's post to take up a position with the county's minor footballers. Gilheaney will link up again with Cyril Kevlihan as Dublin look to regain the Leinster and All-Ireland titles they lost in 2013.

St Vincent's clubman Gilheaney will return to a position he previously held. In 2009, he was also a selector alongside clubman Kevlihan when the Sky Blues won the Leinster title.

And next year, Gilheaney will work alongside Kevlihan once again, with Padraic McDonald, Darragh O'Neill and Mark Fee making up the remainder of the proposed back-room team.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport