Tuesday 21 November 2017

Emotional loss drains Henry



They had hoped for a fitting conclusion to a traumatic few weeks, but Lisnaskea weren't able to deliver the title for tragic team-mate Brian Og Maguire.

The death of their most inspirational player in an industrial accident two weeks prior to Saturday night's final meant that raw emotion was never going to be far from the surface.

A goal from Ryan Glancy four minutes after the break put Lisnaskea 1-3 to 0-4 ahead but they were outscored by 0-11 to 0-1 for the remainder of the game as Tempo ran riot, winning their first title since 1973.

An emotional 'Skea manager Mark Henry said afterwards: "We tried to concentrate on football but Brian Og's death was always going to be in the background."

Scorers -- Tempo: R Keenan, D Keenan (3f) 0-4 each, D Kelly 0-3, T Campbell, N Rogers, R Bogue, C Meehan 0-1 each Lisnaskea: R Glancy 1-0, S Keenan 0-2, D Kille (f), G O'Donnell 0-1 each.

Tempo -- S Jackson; D Campbell, A Breen, K Ingram; C Foy, D Kelly, PJ Rogers; N McElroy, N Rogers; C Meehan, C McElroy, R Bogue; D Keenan, T Campbell, R Keenan Subs: R Foy for Ingram (33), T Dunne for C McElroy (57).

Lisnaskea -- B McGoldrick; M Smyth, M McKenna, K Mohan; N McElroy, K Curran, J Woods; R Glancy, C Curran; A Little, P Curran, M Little; S Keenan, D Kille, S Ingram Subs: G O'Donnell for Woods (h-t), R O'Keefe for P Curran (45), K Swift for A Little (45).

Ref -- E McDonagh.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Sport Newsletter

The best sport action straight to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport